ECU Scholar-Teacher Awards

Past Recipients

The purpose of the annual Provost and Senior Vice Chancellor for Academic Affair’s Scholar-Teacher Awards is to recognize faculty members who effectively integrate scholarship (research/creative activity) in classroom teaching. The award winners will excel in these two central facets of faculty responsibility. The recognition will provide additional opportunities for these outstanding faculty members to mentor others.

Each college in Academic Affairs and each college or school in Health Sciences will review its established recipient selection procedures in keeping with the purpose for the award. Except for the Thomas Harriot College of Arts and Sciences and the Brody School of Medicine, which may select three recipients, each college in Academic Affairs and Health Sciences may recognize annually one scholar-teacher. (A scholar-teacher need not be selected by each unit every year, and numbers per college/school may change as the result of reorganization.) The Provost and Senior VCAA will  provide visibility for the awards and the annual recipients.

Criteria: The faculty member recognized with this award will

  • demonstrate excellence in the classroom, as evidenced by
    • SOIS/SPOTS, peer observation, and other evidence
    • recommendations of colleagues and students
  • have an outstanding record of scholarly accomplishments, as evidenced by
    • publication in recognized disciplinary venues
    • presentations before scholarly organizations
    • other outlets appropriate to the discipline
  • effectively integrate research/creative activity in classroom teaching
  • mentor developing scholars, both students and faculty
The last two characteristics will be the distinguishing qualification and the unique aspect of the contributions of award recipients. The Provost and Senior VCAA will sponsor a symposium at which the recipients will make brief (15-minute) presentations on the integration of research/creative activity in teaching. Each recipient will also provide  a poster presentation or display for exhibit during the symposium week. In conjunction with the symposium, the Provost will host a reception honoring award recipients. The scheduled date in late March or early April will be announced early in the preceding fall term. The award will consist of

  • A stipend of $1000 is awarded to each Scholar-Teacher (beginning Spring 2013) to be used for professional travel; support of integration of research/creative activity and teaching; student research stipends; and/or other legitimate professional expenditures.
  • A symposium and reception honoring the recipients held in conjunction with the award presentation.
  • Individual engraved awards and the name of the recipients engraved on a plaque which will hang in a suitable location.

Submissions should include a letter of nomination and other materials as appropriate and should be submitted by December 1 each year (or the next business day should the first fall on a weekend).

The Office for Faculty Excellence
1001 Joyner Library
Mailstop 530
East Carolina University, Greenville, NC 27858