SERSAS Logo, Courtesy Jonathan T. Reynolds

SOUTHEASTERN REGIONAL SEMINAR IN AFRICAN STUDIES (SERSAS)

MEMBERSHIP LIST


Abdalla, Ismail H., Department of History, College of William and Mary, Williamsburg, VA 23185, ixabda@facstaff.wm.edu

Aborisade, Oladimeji, Afro-American and African Studies, University of North Carolina, Charlotte, NC 28223

Anderson, Barbara, CB#7582, African and Afro-American Studies, African Studies Center, UNC-Chapel Hill, NC 27599 b_anderson@unc.edu

Ankumah, Adaku T., Department of English, Tuskegee University, Tuskegee, AL 36088, ankumahat@mytu.tuskegee.edu

Azevedo, Mario, Department of Epidemiology and Biostatistics, Jackson State University, Jackson, Mississippi 39217, 601-979-1270, mario.azevedo@jsums.edu

Azriel, Joshua, Department of Communication, Kennesaw State University, Kennesaw, GA 30144, jazriel@kennesaw.edu

Bah, Mohammed A., Department of History, College of Charleston, Charleston, SC 29424, bahm@cofc.edu

Bamfo, Napoleon, Department of Political Science, Valdosta State University, Valdosta, GA nbamfo@valdosta.edu

Belhaj, Mohammed, School of Law, Economics, and Social Sciences, Mohammed V University, Souissi, Rabat, Morocco mbelhaj2A@gmail

Boyd-Buggs, Debra S., Department of Romance Languages, Wake Forest University, PO Box 7566, Winston-Salem, NC 27109; 148 Surtees Road, Winston-Salem, NC 27104

Brown, James W., Department of History, University of South Carolina, Spartanburg, SC 29303, jbrown@uscupstate.edu

Browning-Mullis, Shannon, Department of History, Georgia Southern University, Statesboro, GA 30458 sb02711@georgiasouthern.edu

Brunger, Scott, Economics Department, Maryville, TN 37804; Box 2839, Maryville, TN 37804, scott.brunger@maryvillecollege.edu

Bunger, Robert, Anthropology Department, East Carolina University, Greenville, NC 27858, bungerr@ecu.edu

Burgess, Thomas, Department of Political Science/History, Hampton University, Hampton, VA 23669, kennedybyu@yahoo.com

Burns, James, Department of History, Clemson University, Clemson, SC 29634; 104 Lakeview Circle, Clemson, SC 29631, burnsj@clemson.edu

Butler, Reginald, Carter G. Woodson Institute, University of Virginia, Charlottesville, VA 22903

Carmichael, Tim, History Department, College of Charleston, Charleston, SC 28424, mrtim@mail.h-net.msu.edu

Catsam, Derik, Contemporary History Institute, Brown House, Ohio University, Athens, Ohio 45701, dc295887@ohiou.edu

Charles, Eunice, 5-0 Briar Circle, Fayetteville, NC 28306, charlese@soc.mil

Ching, Erik, History Department, Furman University, 3300 Pointsett Highway, Greenville, SC 29613

Cinnamon, John M., Anthropology, Miami University Hamilton, 1601 University Blvd., Hamilton, OH 45011 cinnamjm@miamioh.edu

Cobbe, James, Department of Economics, Florida State University, Tallahassee, FL 32306-2045, jcobbe@coss.fsu.edu

Crumbley, Deidrett, Africana Studies, North Carolina State University, Raleigh, NC, deidre_crumbley@ncsu.edu

Davis, Hunt, Department of History, University of Florida, 4131 Turlington Hall, Box 117320, Gainesville, FL 32611-2036

Decker, David F., University of South Carolina, Sumter, 200 Miller Road, Sumter, SC, Ddecker@uscsumter.edu

DeLancey, Mark, GINT, University of South Carolina, Columbia, SC 29208

DeLancey, Mark D., School of Art and Art History, MSC 7101, James Madison University, Harrisonburg, VA 22807, Tel. (540) 568-6372, Fax (540) 568-6598, home page: http://peregrin.jmu.edu/~delancmd/Homepage.html, email: delancmd@jmu.edu

Digre, Brian, Department of History, C.B. 2150, Elon College, Elon, NC 27244, digreb@elon.edu

Disney, Jennifer Leigh, Department of Political Science, Winthrop University, Rock Hill, SC 29733, 803-323-4668, disneyj@winthrop.edu

Ellovich, Risa, Sociology and Anthropology, North Carolina State University, Box 8107, Raleigh, NC 27695-8107, Add SERSAS-L DrKieh@Yahoo.com Doris Kieh PW=MAKAPUURISA@server.sasw.ncsu.edu>risa@server.sasw.ncsu.edu or risa_ellovich@ncsu.edu

Fishkin, Benjamin Hart, Department of English, Tuskegee University, Tuskegee, AK 36088, FishkinB@Tuskegee.edu

Flint, Karen, 213A Garinger, Department of History, UNC-Charlotte, Charlotte, NC 28223-0001, kflint@uncc.edu

Florida, Brenda, 205 S. 5th Street, Souderton, PA 18964

Frazier, Javan David, Division of Social Sciences and Education, 1100 Second Street SE, Middle Georgia College, Cochran, GA 31014, Tel.: 478-934-3301, jdfrazier@mgc.edu

Goldman, Abe, Center for African Studies, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida 32611, agoldmn@ufl.edu

Gordon, April A., Department of Sociology, Winthrop College, Rock Hill, SC 29733, gordona@winthrop.edu

Gordon, Donald L., Furman University, PO Box 28621, Greenville, SC 29613, Don.Gordon@furman.edu

Graybill, Lyn, Independent Scholar, 134B Walker Street, Atlanta, GA 30313, lynsgraybill@gmail.com

Griffiths, Robert J., Political Science, UNC-Greensboro, 237 Graham Building, Greensboro, NC 27412-5001

Gueye, Marame, English, ECU Mailstop 555, East Carolina University, Greenville, NC 27858, GueyeM@ecu.edu

Handagama, Kala R., MA-Recipient, University of Sussex, Instructor Trainee at Maryville College, Maryville, TN 37803, khandagama@hotmail.com

Harris, Shannon, Department of History, King College, 1530 King College Road, Bristol, TN 37620, svharris@king.edu

Heath, Carla, Department of Communication, Randolph-Macon Women's College, 2500 Rivermont Avenue, Lynchburg, VA 24503-1526

Hendrickson, Joy M., Political Science, Hampton University, Hampton, VA 23668

Hodges, John O., Religious Studies, African and African-American Studies, University of Tennessee, Knoxville, TN 37996, johodges@utk.edu

Hoehler-Fatton, Cynthia, Department of Religious Studies, University of Virginia, Charlottesville, VA 22903

Hoyer, Cacee, Department of History, University of Texas at Austin, Texas 78712, Cacee.Hoyer@Gmail.com

Hutchison, Charles, Education, UNC-Charlotte, NC 28223 chutchis@uncc.edu

Ike, Chris, Fayetteville State University, 1200 Murchison Road, Fayetteville, NC 28301-4298

Jalata, Asafa, Department of Sociology, University of Tennessee, Knoxville, TN 37922,ajalata@utk.edu

Johns, Sheridan, Political Science, Duke University, Box 90204, Perkins Library, Durham, NC 27708, johns@duke.edu

Johnson, Ali Tetla, Johnson C. Smith University, Charlotte, NC 28216, tjohnson@jcsu.edu

Johnson-Ross, Debora, Wofford College, Spartanburg, SC 29303, johnsonrossd@wofford.edu

Jones, Jimmie, Miami University Hamilton, 1601 University Blvd., Hamilton, OH 45011 jonesjl@miamioh.edu

Kalinga, Owen J., History Department, North Carolina State University, Box 8108, Raleigh, NC 27695, Owen.Kalinga@NCSU.edu

Keen, Anne-Elise, Department of Anthropology, McGill University, Montréal, QC H3A 0G4, Canada, Anne-Elise.Keen@McGill.CA

Kieh, Doris R., Center for Diversity and Inclusion, University of West Georgia, Carrollton, GA 30118, DrKieh@yahoo.com and DrKieh@WestGa.edu

Kieh, George, Department of Political Science and Planning, University of West Georgia, Carrollton, GA 30118, georgekieh@yahoo.com

Kinsey, Winston, History Department, Appalachian State University, Boone, NC 28608, 828-262-6007, kinseywl@appstate.edu

Klein, Thomas, Department of Writing and Linguistics, Georgia Southern University, Statesboro, GA 30458, tklein@georgiasouthern.edu

Konate, Dior, Department of Social Sciences, South Carolina State University, Orangeburg, SC 25117

Kriger, Colleen, History, UNC-Greensboro, 219 McIver Building, PO Box 26170, Greensboro, NC 27402-6170, c_kriger@uncg.edu

Landau, Paul, Department of History, University of Maryland, College Park, MD 20742 PLandau@UMD.edu

LaPointe, Mark, 676 Delanie Way, Stone Mountain, GA 30083

Larkini, Ross, 531 SE 2nd Place Apartment, Gainesville, Florida 32601

Leaver, John David, (Savannah Atlantic), 5577 Dove Lane, West Chester, Ohio 45069 USA

Lemarchand, René, University of Florida, Gainesville 32608, ReneLemar@aol.com

Lesane, Shakara, East Carolina University, Greenville, NC 27858, ShakaraLesane@gmail.com

Lewis, Amanda, Michigan State University, Ph.D. Student lewis.amanda@gmail.com

Lindsay, Lisa, History, UNC-Chapel Hill, Chapel Hill, NC 27599

Long, Richard, Graduate Institute of Liberal Arts, Emory University, 210C Physics Building, Atlanta, GA 30322

Lundy, Brandon, Department of Geography and Anthropology, Kennesaw State University, #22 Social Science Building, Kennesaw, GA 30144, blundy@kennesaw.edu

Lyons, Leah, Department of Foreign Languages and Literatures, Middle Tennessee State University, Box 79, Murfreesboro, TN 37132, ltlyons@mtsu.edu

Maaba, Brown B., University of Fort Hare, Private Bag X1314, Alice 5700, South Africa, maaba@hotmail.com

Mabutla, Frank Gausi, Duke University, Morreeue Road, C-5, Durham, NC 27705, fmabutl@lycos.com

MacKinnon, Aran S., Department of History, State University of West Georgia, Carrollton, GA 30118, amackinn@westga.edu

Marquardt, Gary, History Department, Virginia Commonwealth University, Stagg House, 912 W. Franklin, PO Box 8420, Richmond, VA, gamarquardt@vcu.edu

Mason, John, Department of History, University of Virginia, Randall Hall, Charlottesville, VA 22903, jem3a@virginia.edu or equiano@virginia.edu

Matusevich, Maxim, Department of History, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champagne, Illinois 61801, matusevc@uiuc.edu

Maximillian, Jacqueline, Natural Resources, University of Idaho, Moscow, Idaho, jmaximillian@vandals.uidaho.edu

McClelland, Charles W., History Department, Radford University, Radford, VA 24141

McKee, Katherine Mpeshi, Independent Consultant, 210 Leftwich St., #2, Greensboro, NC 27401, katherinemmckee@gmail.com

McKittrick, Meredith, Department of History, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, mckittrm@gusun.georgetown.edu

Mengara, Daniel, 1 Normal Avenue, Montclair State University, Montclair, NJ 07043, mengarad@mail.montclair.edu

Metelits, Claire, Cultural Knowledge Consortium (US Army TRADOC), 950 Jefferson Avenue, Fort Eustis, VA 23604-5700, claire.metelits@culturalknowledge.org

Micots, Courtnay, Powell House, Campus Box 2180, Elon University, Elon, NC 27244, cmicots@elon.edu

Miller, Joseph C., History Department, University of Virginia, Randall Hall, Charlottesville, VA 22903, jcm7a@virginia.edu

Mixon, Gregory, History Department, University of North Carolina, Charlotte, NC 28223-0001, 704-687-4595, gmixon@email.uncc.edu

Mosadomi, Tola, 6 Fountainbleu Drive, New Orleans, LA 70125

Mwaniki, Munene, Sociology Department, University of Illinois (UC), mwaniki1@illinois.edu

Mwaniki, Nyaga, Anthropology and Sociology Department, Western Carolina University, Cullowhee, NC 28723; Tel: 828-227-3777, mwaniki@wcu.edu

Nartey, Myralyn, Public Health/African Studies, UCLA, Los Angeles, CA, mo263@caa.columbia.edu

Ndi, William, Tusgegee University, Tuskegee, AL 36088, wndi@mytu.tuskegee.edu

Neff, Jeff, Geography, Western Carolina University, Cullowhee, NC 28723; Tel: 828-227-7367; FAX: 828-227-7647, neffj@wpoff.wcu.edu

Newbury, Catharine, Department of Government, Smith College, Northampton, MA 01063

Newbury, David, Department of History, Smith College, Northampton, MA 01063

Njoroge, Joseph, Department of Political Science, Abraham Baldwin College, 2802 Moore Highway, Tifton, GA 31793, jnjoroge@abac.edu

Nmoma, Veronica Walker, 7228 Kinsmore Lane, Charlotte, NC 28269; FAX: 704-547-3888, vnwalker@email.uncc.edu

Normandy, Elizabeth, Political Science, Pembroke State University, Pembroke, NC 28372, normandy@sassette.uncp.edu

Nwankwo, Chimalum, English, North Carolina A and T University, Greensboro, NC 27411, ulanne@aol.com

Obidoa, Chinekwu, Department of International and Global Studies, Mercer University, Macon, GA 31207, Obidoa_C@Mercer.edu

Ogirri, Dennis A., Associate Dean/Professor, Strayer University, Raleigh, NC, dennis.ogirri@strayer.edu

Ogletree, Julie, Clemson, SC Julie@SOgletree.com

Ojo, Okinloye, University of Georgia, Athens, GA 30602

Okafo, Nonso, Law/Criminal Justice/Criminology, Criminal Justice Graduate Program, Coord., S. E. Regional Seminar in African Studies, Norfolk State University, 1881 University Drive, Suite 268, Virginia Beach, Virginia 23453, U. S. A, Phone: 757 368 6368, Fax: 757 368 4381, Email: nonso@nsu.edu

Okia, Opolot, Department of History, 6th Floor, Dunford Hall, 915 Volunteer Blvd., University of Tennessee, Knoxville, TN 37996, ookia@utk.edu

Osakwe, Nneka, Department of English, Albany State University, Albany, Georgia, nnosakwe@yahoo.com

Owolabi, Isaac, Business Department, Montreat College, Montreat, NC 28757, iowolabi@montreat.edu

Oyelaran, Olasope, Education, Winston-Salem State University, Winston-Salem, NC 27110

Parson, Jack, Political Science, College of Charleston, Charleston, SC 29424, parsonj@cofc.edu

Presley, Cora, African-American Studies, Georgia State University, Atlanta, Georgia 30303, cpresley@gsu.edu

Prichard, Andreana, Department of History, Honors College, University of Oklahoma, 1300 Asp Avenue, Norman, OK 73019, aprichard@ou.edu

Poggo, Scopas S., The Ohio State University, 419-755-4202 (office), poggo.1@osu.edu

Priebe, Richard, English, Virginia Commonwealth University, Richmond, VA 23284 USA

Randall, Nancy, Department of Sociology, Wingate University, Wingate, NC 28174, nrandall@wingate.edu

Reynolds, Jonathan T., Department of History and Geography, Northern Kentucky University, Highland Heights, Kentucky 41099, Sagiru@Hotmail.com or reynolds@nku.edu

Rich, Jeremy, Department of History, Box 23, Middle Tennessee State University, Murfreesboro, Tennessee 37132, Tel: 615-898-2574, Fax: 615-898-5881, jrich@mtsu.edu

Robins, Melinda, Journalism Department, Emerson College, Boston, Massachusetts 02116, mrobins@emerson.edu

Sall, Amadou, 1201 McClung Tower, Knoxville, TN 37996 USA

Sane, Anta, 2600 Keating Street, Apartment 406, Temole Hills, MD 20748, antasane@yahoo.com

Saunders, Janice, History, Roanoke College, 221 College Lane, Salem, VA 24153-3794, saunders@roanoke.edu

Shigane, Shumet, Department of History, Christopher Newport College, Newport News, VA 23602

Siegel, Brian, Anthropology, Furman University, Greenville, SC 29613, brian.siegel@furman.edu

Siegler, Jennifer, Art History, Emory University, Atlanta, GA 30030, Jennifer.Siegler@Emory.edu

Simpson, Jr., George L., History, High Point University, University Station, Montlieu Avenue, High Point, NC 27262-3598

Skidmore-Hess, Cathy, Department of History, Georgia Southern University, PO Box 8054, Statesboro, GA 30460-8054, cskid@georgiasouthern.edu

Smith, Earl P., Art Educator, Retired

Sofer, Douglas O., Department of History, Maryville College, Maryville, TN 37803, doug.sofer@maryvillecollege.edu

Spalding, Nancy, Political Science, East Carolina University, Greenville, NC 27858, spaldingn@ecu.edu

Steinhart, Edward I., History, Old Dominion University, Norfolk, VA 23529

Suggs, H. Lewis, Department of History, Clemson University, Clemson, SC 29634, pbyn@clemson.edu

Tekle, Teshome Kebede, University of Oslo, Norway

Turner, Thomas, Adjunct Professor, Virginia Commonwealth University, Harrisonburg, Virginia 22802, Tel: 304-650-3999, teturner2@vcu.edu or tommyagain@yahoo.com

Ugochukwu, Chimoma, Department of Mass Communication/RTF, University of Texas at Austin, Austin, TX 78712

Vickery, Kenneth P., History Department, North Carolina State University, Box 8108, Raleigh, NC 27695-8108, vickery@social.chass.ncsu.edu

Wakene, Edna Legesse, University of Oslo, Norway

Waller, Rick, Department of History, Bucknell University, Lewisburg, PA 17837

Watson, Richard L., History Department, NC Wesleyan College, Wesleyan College Station, Rocky Mount, NC 27804, rwatson@ncwc.edu

Whitaker, Beth Elise, Department of Political Science, 9201 University City Blvd., University of North Carolina at Charlotte, Charlotte, NC 28223; Tel: 704-687-4527; Fax: 704-687-3497, BWhitaker@uncc.edu

White, Luise, Department of History, University of Florida, P.O. Box 117320, Gainesville, FL 32611-7320, lswhite@ufl.edu

Wiggan, Greg, Education, University of North Carolina at Charlotte, Charlotte, NC 28223, gwiggan@uncc.edu

Wilburn, Kenneth, Department of History, East Carolina University, Greenville, NC 27858, wilburnk@ecu.edu

Wilson-Oyelaran, Eileen, President, Kalamazoo College, Kalamazoo, Michigan 49006

Zehnle, Stephanie, Department of History, Kassel University, Kassel 34109, Germany Zehnle@Uni-Kassel.De


Return to the SERSAS Home Page.

Send corrections/suggestions to Kenneth Wilburn, Web Editor for SERSAS.

First Online Edition: 22 October 1997
Last Revised: 14 March 2014