Welcome to Biology at ECU!

We are a broad department that emphasizes integrative approaches drawing from across the life sciences. We offer undergraduate majors in Biology and Biochemistry and graduate opportunities at both the MS and PhD levels. Our faculty, students, and staff have received a wide range of honors and awards and some of their achievements are highlighted on this site. We encourage alumni to keep in touch and prospective students to visit. We look forward to hearing from you!

Biology News
Dr. Baohong Zhang Named as an AAAS Fellow!
Congratulations to Baohong, who was named a fellow to the American Association for the Advancement of Science. Baohong is the third fellow selected from ECU, and the first from the Department of Biology.

Read more here

3 Minute Thesis Competition
Biology Threepeat! Biology wins the 3 Minute Thesis Departmental Cup for the Third Time!
Congratulations to all graduate students who participated in the 3MT thesis competition. Thanks to their efforts, Biology won the Department Cup for the third year in a row. Emory Wellman was the Grand Champion, and will represent ECU Biology at the National Championship, while Robert Driver won the People's Choice award.

Read more here

Mikayla Johnson Conducts Research in Dr. Summers' Lab

During the summer, Mikayla Johnson was an undergraduate student researcher in the lab of Dr. Kyle Summers. Through a project supported by the National Science Foundation Research Experience for Undergraduates, Johnson took part in an ongoing study of evolution, husbandry and Müllerian mimicry in different species of Peruvian frogs.

You can see a video of her in action in the lab here.

Read more here

Biology Welcomes Cindy Putnam-Evans as our New Chair!
THCAS Associate Dean of Research Cindy Putnam-Evans has been appointed (interim) Chair of the Department of Biology following Jeff McKinnon’s move to the faculty after 10 years of service. A national search for a permanent Chair will begin shortly.

Read more here

Will Zahran
Biology Graduate Will Zahran Selected to Serve as Presidential Scholar for the 2018-19 Academic Year

Well done Will (Class of 2018)! He was selected as one of four recent UNC System graduates to serve as Presidential Scholars for the 2018-19 academic year. The Presidential Scholars serve a one-year appointment and provide a wide range of professional functions for the UNC System Office.

Read more here

Connect with Us

Facebook  Twitter  linkedin