Workers' Compensation benefits are available to any employee who suffers disability by accident or occupational disease arising out of, and in the course of his or her employment, according to the provisions of the North Carolina Workers' Compensation Act.
All University employees are eligible for Workers' Compensation benefits.
The full cost of medical treatment is covered by Workers' Compensation if the injury/illness is compensable under the Workers' Compensation Act.
Employees who suffer lost worktime injuries/illnesses are eligible to receive Workers' Compensation weekly benefits equivalent to two-thirds of their weekly wage, with a maximum equal to the average wage in North Carolina. The present maximum compensation rate is $426 .00 and will be adjusted in January of each year.
Workers' Compensation weekly benefits are not payable for a seven day waiting period following an accident, unless the total lost worktime exceeds 21 calendar days. The seven calendar day waiting period is waived if the lost work-time exceeds 21 days and Workers' Compensation weekly benefits then can be received for the first seven days. During the seven day waiting period, the employee may use accrued sick or annual leave if available, or choose to go off the payroll for the waiting period with no pay.
See East Carolina University Employee Handbook, for additional information concerning Workers' Compensation eligibility, reporting, filing, leave, and effects on other benefits.
Limitations Based on Length of Disability
Workers' Compensation weekly benefits are not payable if the lost worktime is seven calendar days or less. Thus, for payroll purposes, the lost worktime must be charged to sick leave, annual leave, or leave without pay.
All University employees, including paid student help, are covered by Workers' Compensation which provides for certain benefits in the event there is an on-the-job injury. If and when an on-the-job injury should occur, it should be reported immediately to the University Environmental Health and Safety Office. Appropriate forms must be received within 48 hours.
The employee who earns sick and vacation leave may select any one of the following options when an on-the-job injury occurs. However, after an option has been selected by the employee, it cannot be changed during the period covered.
NOTE: In either option above, if the injury results in disability of more than 21 days, the workers' compensation weekly benefit shall be allowed from the date of the disability.
NOTE: All elections involving the use of earned sick or vacation leave are subject to their availability.
The employee drawing Workers' Compensation will continue to earn annual and sick leave credits for a period not to exceed twelve months following the date of the injury. If the employee is unable to return to work within 30 days following the twelve month period, all accumulated sick and annual leave will be paid to the individual in a lump sum.
Effect of Workers' Compensation Leave on Benefits
The employee's increment, anniversary dates and health insurance are not affected while an employee is on Workers' Compensation Leave. Monthly premiums for the employee will be paid by the state; however, premiums for any dependent coverage must be paid directly by the employee. Retirement service credit is not received while on Workers' Compensation leave. Normal payroll deductions are not made from Workers' Compensation weekly benefits.
Employees continue to earn Annual and Sick Leave for a period of up to one year while drawing Workers' Compensation weekly benefits. If the employee is unable to return to work, vacation and sick leave accumulated during the first twelve months of leave will be paid in a lump sum along with other unused vacation.
No Credit Union loan payments or any other payroll deduction will be deducted from Workers' Compensation weekly benefits, thus the Credit Union and others should be contacted for payment arrangements .
For further information, please contact the Environmental Health and Safety Office.