CHE Pirate Profiles -- Morgan March

Name:
Morgan March
Hometown:
Lexington, NC
Major:
Apparel Merchandising

Why did you choose ECU?
I chose ECU based on the accredited Interior Design program that is offered. I was in the program for about a year and a half and decided that it wasn’t for me. Since I have a passion for the interiors field I decided to continue down that road, so I switch to the Merchandising major with a concentration in Apparel and Interiors. Along with those reasons, I chose ECU because of the amazing campus and experience you get when becoming a pirate. The size was perfect for me and I felt like it was a home away from home.

Why did you choose your major?
I chose my major because I have a love for all types of fashion, especially within the interiors field. As stated above, I was an Interior Design major to begin with. This intrigue with interior furnishings and architecture started when I was about 13. I never really knew what you could do within the field so I started with what I knew, Interior Design. Eventually, after being immersed in the major for 3 semesters I decided I just wasn’t passionate about it like others. Also, I just wasn’t happy so I switched gears and took on an Interior Merchandising Major. I then added the Apparel concentration after visiting Atlanta America Mart in the fall of 2012. I figured that it would give me expertise in all aspects of fashion and a better resume when career hunting. This past semester, I added the Interior Design minor on top of my Communicatons minor, which will be officially approved in the fall of 2014.

What would you tell potential students who are considering your major?
The Merchandising major here at ECU is an extremely good one because of the dedicated professors and students. I’ve never heard of professors being so involved in the organizations and being so committed to the success of the students. They treat everyone with respect and care so much about what they teach and how they do it. The students are also ambitious and have made the Apparel and Interiors Merchandising Organization very successful. It has become a huge organization with a huge annual fashion show turnout.

Have you participated in any internship or undergraduate research opportunities?
I have completed a design internship for Furnitureland South in High Point, NC and a sales internship at Ann Taylor Loft in Greenville, NC. They were both amazing learning experiences and taught me the ins and outs of the furniture and apparel retail businesses.

What other activities are you involved with at ECU and/or the community?
I currently hold the position of Vice President for AIMO and previously held Historian and Décor Chair. These opportunities have been such eye openers and have given me various leadership abilities. I am also in a sorority called Zeta Tau Alpha and have been a member since my freshman year. In ZTA, I have served as the Membership Enrichment chair and as a Recruitment Chairman along with other smaller positions. I am involved in the community especially in my hometown. In Greenville, I volunteer for Habitat for Humanity Restore and recently I started giving my time with Rebuilding Together for IDSN 3003. In my hometown, I help with Carolina Cancer Services and with the local Senior Country Store.

Do you have any other hobbies/interests?
I played soccer for most of my life starting from the age of 5 to when I tore my ACL at the age of 17. I played at a classic and premiere level for Twin City Soccer Association and for my high school. I don’t play much anymore because of my knee injury but I do like to play intramural soccer from time to time. I’m very crafty and love to complete DYI projects especially with vintage furniture pieces!

What is your best ECU memory?
My best memories are with my friends who I have met here. Most of them are in my sorority and are the reason I would never leave. Tailgating for the football games and getting ready together for a fun night out are memories I could never replace.

How has your experience at ECU changed you?
I believe that I have grown into a responsible adult and know how to deal with situations in a mature manner. On the other hand, I still know how to have fun and relax while keeping my grades as high as possible. I think ECU has given me everything that I have wanted out of a college experience!

What are your future plans (grad school, job, travel, etc.)?
Right after graduation I plan on traveling for a month or two because I have never gotten a chance to travel outside of the country. I think that this is the best time to travel before I begin a career in my field. After traveling, I will do my best to find a great job, but if times are still tough and the opportunity presents itself I will attend grad school. I would like to go to a design school maybe somewhere in the South such as SCAD.

What would be your dream job?
My dream career would be something in the design field. Not interior design but in design production management. I would like to be a part of the design team for a furniture company. I am also interested in visual merchandising as a career path. I think I have a good eye for design through creativity and would do well in that field as well.

     
College of Human Ecology
Rivers Building | Greenville, NC 27858-4353 USA
Contact Us
© 2014 | terms of use | Last Updated 01/22/2014

 

Enriching Lives. Enhancing Communities.