The Council serves as a venue to discuss all aspects of coastal research at ECU, and to provide guidance and consultation to the Director of the Institute for Coastal Science and Policy (ICSP) as needed. The Council is convened by the ICSP Director. The Council is a forum for internal and external issues and actions that are important to the smooth and effective functioning of the ICSP and coastal and maritime interests campus-wide and at affiliated institutions. Among other duties, Council members obtain recommendations from faculty on new initiatives, suggest faculty participants for ICSP initiatives, and implement a system to provide incentives (financial or otherwise, budget permitting) for faculty contributions to interdisciplinary projects.

The chairs and program directors whose units are directly engaged in coastal activities (including but not limited to: Anthropology, Biology, Economics, Environmental Toxicology, Geography, Geological Sciences, History, Political Science, Recreation and Leisure Studies, Sociology, related Institutes and Centers, the PhD Program in Coastal Resources Management, and the Program in Maritime Studies), or their designees, are invited to join the Council to represent their units. The appointment of non-representative members to the Council is governed by the procedures given below. The Chair of the Council is appointed by the Director of ICSP, to serve a renewable one-year term, beginning at the first Council meeting after the start of the academic year. The ICSP Director may recruit additional Council members on an ad hoc basis, and, at his/her discretion, may choose to Chair the Council on an interim or annual basis.

Procedures for appointing non-representative Council members

The following procedures are in effect until further notice:

1) Each year at the March meeting, the Council will nominate three additional members for appointment to the Council for a three-year term. If a nominee accepts the invitation, the ICSP Director will appoint him/her, in writing, for a term to begin in April of the same year.

2) Members rotating off after a three-year term is ended are eligible for reappointment.

CMC Charter v.5                                                                       1 March 2012

Coastal-Maritime Council

East Carolina University