UNIVERSITY CALENDARS 2001-2002
 
Back | Next | Index | Table

Official university calendars, which incorporate any modifications to the printed calendars below, are maintained by the East Carolina University Faculty Senate office and may be accessed at http://www.ecu.edu/fsoline 

SUMMER SESSION 2001

FIRST TERM

(Actual class days: 5 Mondays, 5 Tuesdays, 5 Wednesdays, 5 Thursdays, 5 Fridays, 1 registration day, 1 final exam day)

March 15, Thursday   Last day to apply for admission to Graduate School for first summer term
May 11, Friday       Schedules canceled for all who have not paid fees by 4:00 p.m.
May 14, Monday       Registration and schedule changes
May 15, Tuesday      Classes begin; late registration; schedule changes
May 16, Wednesday    Last day for late registration and schedule changes (drop and add) for first term
May 17, Thursday     Last day for schedule changes (add only).
May 28, Monday       Last day for undergraduate students to drop term-length courses or withdraw from school without grades. Block courses may be dropped only during the first 40 percent of their regularly scheduled class meetings.  Last day to submit grade replacement requests.
June 12, Tuesday     Last day for graduate students to drop courses without grades
June 18, Monday      Classes end
June 19, Tuesday     Final examinations

SECOND TERM

(Actual class days: 5 Mondays, 5 Tuesdays, 4 Wednesdays, 6 Thursdays, 5 Fridays, 1 registration day, 1 final exam day)

May 1, Tuesday        Last day to apply for admission to Graduate School for second summer term
June 19, Tuesday      Schedules canceled for all who have not paid fees by 4:00 p.m.
June 20, Wednesday    Registration and schedule changes
June 21, Thursday     Classes begin; late registration; schedule changes
June 22, Friday       Last day for late registration and schedule changes (drop and add) for second term
June 25, Monday       Last day for schedule changes (add only).
July 4, Wednesday     State holiday (no classes)
July 5, Thursday      Last day for undergraduate students to drop term-length courses or withdraw from school without grades. Block courses may be dropped only during the first 40 percent of their regularly scheduled class meetings.  Last day to submit grade replacement requests.
July 16, Monday       Last day to submit thesis to Graduate School for completion of degree in summer session
July 20, Friday       Last day for graduate students to drop courses without grades
July 26, Thursday     Classes end
July 27, Friday             Final examinations; last day to submit appeals for readmission for fall semester
July 28, Saturday           Summer session ends

WEEKEND UNIVERSITY CLASSES

(Actual class days:  10 Fridays, 10 Saturdays, 2 final exam days)

May 11, Friday       Registration and schedule changes; classes begin
May 15, Tuesday      Last day for class schedule changes (drop and add). Last day to submit grade replacement requests.
June 5, Tuesday      Last day to drop a class or to withdraw from school without grades. 
June 29-June 30
    Friday-Saturday
6:30 p.m., State holiday begins (no classes)
July 21, Saturday    Classes end
July 27-28
   Friday-Saturday
Final examinations
July 28, Saturday    Summer session ends

FALL SEMESTER 2001

(Actual class days:  14 Mondays, 15 Tuesdays, 16 Wednesdays, 15 Thursdays, 15 Fridays, 14 Saturdays.
Effective class days:  15 Mondays, 15 Tuesdays, 15 Wednesdays, 15 Thursdays, 15 Fridays, 15 Saturdays.)

June 1, Friday      Last day to apply for admission to Graduate School for the fall semester
July 27, Friday     Last day to submit appeals for readmission for fall semester
August 1, Wednesday Last day to pay or secure fall semester fees without penalty
August 13, Monday   Faculty meetings; schedules canceled for all who have not paid fees by 4:00 p.m.
August 14, Tuesday  Registration and schedule changes
August 15, Wednesday Classes begin; late registration; schedule changes
August 16, Friday   6:30 p.m. Weekend University classes begin
August 21, Tuesday  Last day for late registration and schedule changes (drop and add)
August 22, Wednesday Last day for schedule changes (add only); last day for Weekend University schedule changes (drop and add)
August 29, Wednesday Last day to apply for graduation in December
August 31, Friday   6:30 p.m. - Weekend University state holiday begins (no classes)
September 3, Monday State holiday (no classes)
September 26, Wednesday Last day for undergraduate students to drop semester-length courses or withdraw from school without grades.  Block courses may be dropped only during the first 40 percent of their regularly scheduled class meetings. Last day to submit grade replacement requests
October 2, Tuesday  Last day for undergraduate students to drop a Weekend University course or to withdraw from school without grades
October 12, Friday  6:30 p.m. - Weekend University fall break begins (no classes)
October 13-16,
   Saturday-Tuesday
Fall break
October 17, Wednesday 8:00 a.m. - Classes resume; state holiday makeup day.  (Classes which normally would have met on Monday, September 3, will meet on this day so that there will effectively be the same number of Mondays and Wednesdays as every other weekday during the semester.  Wednesday classes will not meet.)
November 5, Monday  Early registration for spring semester begins
November 14, Wednesday Last day to remove incompletes given during spring semester and/or summer session
November 21-25,
   Wednesday-Sunday
Thanksgiving break
November 26, Monday 8:00 a.m. - Classes resume; last day for graduate students to drop courses without grades
November 27, Tuesday Last day to submit thesis to the Graduate School for completion of degree in this term
December 5, Wednesday Regular classes end
December 6, Thursday Reading day
December 7, Friday  Regular exams begin; Weekend University classes meet
December 8, Saturday Commencement; Weekend University classes end
December 14-15,
   Friday-Saturday 
Weekend University exams. On the 15th at 6:00 p.m. exams for fall semester close.  The 15th is the last day to submit readmission appeals for spring semester.

EXAMINATION SCHEDULE

FALL SEMESTER 2001

There will be no departure from the printed schedule, except as noted below. All examinations for one credit hour courses will be held during the last regular meeting of the class.  Classes meeting more than three times a week will follow the examination schedule for MWF classes.

Examinations in undergraduate classes meeting at night will be held from 7:30-9:30 p.m. on the first night of their usual meeting during the examination period (December 7-December 14).  Graduate classes meeting at night will hold their examination during their regular class times the first class night during the examination period.  Classes meeting on Saturday morning will have the final examination on Saturday, December 8, at the usual hour at which the class meets.  Weekend University classes will have exams on Friday and Saturday, December 14 and 15, at the usual hour at which the class meets.

Those classes beginning between hours or meeting more than one hour will have the final examination at the time scheduled for the hour during which the class begins (e.g., a 9:30-11:00 a.m. TTh class will meet the examination schedule of the 9:00 a.m. TTh class; an 8:00-10:00 a.m. MW class will meet the examination schedule of the 8:00 a.m. MWF class.)

Common examinations will be held from 5:00-7:00 p.m. according to the following schedule:

ECON 2113, 2133

Friday, December 7

CHEM 1121, 1131, 1151, 1161

Monday, December 10

CHEM 0150, 1120, 1130, 1150, 1160

Tuesday, December 11

FREN 1001, 1003; SPAN 1001, 1004; GERM 1001

Wednesday, December 12

MATH 1065

Thursday, December 13 

FREN 1002; SPAN 1002, 1003; GERM 1002

Friday, December 14 

Other exams will be held according to the following schedule.

 
Time Class Regularly Meets
Time and Day of Examination
 
8:00 MWF
8:00-10:00 Monday, December 10  
 
8:00 TTh
8:00-10:00 Thursday, December 13  
 
9:00 MWF
8:00-10:00 Wednesday, December 12  
 
9:00 TTh
8:00-10:00 Friday, December 14  
 
10:00 MWF
8:00-10:00 Friday, December 7  
 
10:00 TTh
8:00-10:00 Tuesday, December 11  
 
11:00 MWF
11:00- 1:00 Monday, December 10  
 
11:00 TTh
11:00- 1:00 Tuesday, December 11  
 
12:00 MWF
11:00- 1:00 Wednesday, December 12  
 
12:00 TTh
11:00- 1:00 Friday, December 14  
 
1:00 MWF
11:00- 1:00 Friday, December 7  
 
1:00 TTh
11:00- 1:00 Thursday, December 13  
 
2:00 MWF
2:00- 4:00 Monday, December 10  
 
2:00 TTh
2:00- 4:00 Thursday, December 13  
 
3:00 MWF
2:00- 4:00 Wednesday, December 12  
 
3:00 TTh
2:00- 4:00 Tuesday, December 11  
 
4:00 MWF
2:00- 4:00 Friday, December 7  
 
4:00 TTh
2:00- 4:00 Friday, December 14  
 
5:00 MWF
5:00- 7:00 Monday, December 10  
 
5:00 TTh
5:00- 7:00 Tuesday, December 11  

Back| Next | Index | Table