Alumni and Friends - News and Events

Tell a friend about this page.
All fields required.
Can be sent to only one email address at a time.
Share Facebook Icon Twitter Icon

Summer Experiences


Zoe Hinton is participating in the Intensive Spanish for Healthcare Professionals Course at the University of Oviedo in northern Spain for Summer 2015.     

Chris Thaxton was selected for the National Oceanic Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) Hollings Scholar Internship working for the California Current Salmon Diet and Distribution in Santa Cruz, CA. for Summer 2015.

Keerthana Velappan is conducting research alongside a mentor from the Kresge Hearing Research Institute in Ann Arbor, Michigan Summer 2015.

Robert H. Wright Award

March 2015

The most prestigious award for undergraduates at East Carolina University, the Wright award recognizes academic achievement, service to both the university and community, and demonstrated leadership. Four out of the five 2015-2016 recipients are EC Scholars: Ajay Ajmera, Matthew Ryan Baucom, Jessica Jewell, and Shayna  Mooney. Recipients are recognized as those who will make a positive impact on their respective professions and communities. This award is only presented to 5 graduating seniors who will be recognized during graduation. For more information, please visit the East Carolina Alumni Association website.

ECU Phi Kappa Phi Honor Society Awards

March 2015

Phi Kappa Phi, ECU's most distinguished academic honor society. Four EC Scholars are recipients of the 2014-2015. Matthew Ryan Baucom received the Graduate Fellowship Award, Jessica Jewell and Shayna Mooney received the Outstanding Senior Award, and Maggie Marshall received the Outstanding First-Year Student Award. Phi Kappa Phi was founded in 1897 at the University of Maine. Phi Kappa Phi is the nation's oldest, largest, and most selective honor society for all academic disciplines. It hosts chapters on more than 300 campuses across the United States, Puerto Rico, and the Philippines. Each year, approximately 30,000 members are initiated. At ECU, Chapter 114 celebrates the academic achievements of nearly 3,000 initiates since 2000. For more information, please visit the ECU PKP website.

Michael Bassman Thesis Award Winner

December 2014

Rachel Pollard (EC Scholar alumnus) is the winner of the 2015 Michael F. Bassman Honors Thesis Award, hosted by Joyner Library. Rachel's research titled "An assessment of the polytypic status of the Namib darkling beetles Onymacris unguicularis and Onymacris rugatipennis.", was completed under Dr. Trip Lamb, a professor in the department of biology at ECU. Honorable mention was awarded to Hannah Potter for work "CHALLENGES,NEGOTIATIONS, AND FEMINISM IN THE TIJANIYYA ORDER IN SENEGAL AND NIGERIA" completed under Dr. Mary Nyangweso Wangila, in Religious Studies.

Welcome EC Scholars Class of 2018

August 2014 

Nineteen incoming freshmen at East Carolina University were selected for the prestigious EC Scholars Program.  The four-year merit scholarship recognizes outstanding academic performance, commitment to community engagement and strong leadership skills. Recipients receive a scholarship for four years, along with a stipend for study abroad, for a total value of approximately $62,000 including the tuition award from the Honors College. For additional information on each individual student that received the honor, please visit the ECU News Services website.  

Chris Thaxton, EC Scholar, Class of 2016 Awarded Hollings Scholarship

August 2014

Chris Thaxton, second-year EC Scholar and Honors College student, has been named a class of 2014 recipient of the Ernest F. Hollings Undergraduate Scholarship.  The Hollings Scholarship is awarded by the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) and which provides $16,000 for Thaxton's junior and senior years and a 10-week paid NOAA internship in 2015. NOAA receives an average of 900 Hollings Undergraduate Scholarship applications each year from students who meet the criteria and approximately 100 are awarded to top undergraduate scholars from across the United States each year.  As part of the award, Thaxton will engage in a weeklong orientation program in Silver Springs, MD in May 2015 where he will meet the NOAA Administrators, senior program managers, and NOAA scientists.