Faculty Senate

Faculty Officers
Faculty Senate
Faculty Manual
University Standing Committees
Faculty Assembly
Academic Unit Codes of Operation
University Calendars

ECU Faculty Senate 


ECU maintains a strong, long-standing shared governance structure. The Faculty Senate has been the legislative, advisory and primary faculty governance body for faculty representation at ECU for over 50 years. This body provides the means by which faculty are able to fulfill their responsibilities with respect to academic and educational policies of ECU. 


Please feel free to stop by the Faculty Senate office, located at 140 Rawl Annex (across from the Wright Student Store) anytime and/or contact an elected Faculty Officer with any questions or concerns that you may have.

"Shared governance in an academic setting is a fragile balancing act that takes place
between the administration of the university and its faculty. It is the attempt by the administration and the faculty to solve problems and implement policies in a manner that benefits all the constituencies of the university."   (Don Sexauer, Chair of the Faculty, Pieces of Eight, 1998)