Educational Policies and Planning Committee

Meeting Minutes

September 18, 2009


I.        Call to order:  Edson Justiniano, Committee Chair, called the meeting to order at 1:00 p.m. on September 18, 2009 in Rawl Annex 142.


II.      The following persons were present:

Members:  Rose Allen, James Holloway, Dale Knickerbocker, Janice Lewis, Edson Justiniano, Scott Gordon


Ex-Officio Members:  Dee Dee Glascoff, Linner Griffin, George Kasperek, David Siegel, Justin Perry, Mark Sprague (for Marianna Walker)


Faculty Senate Office:  Lori Lee


Guest: Sharon Bland


Excused:  Margaret Bauer


III.    Announcements

E. Justiniano announced that James Holloway has been appointed to the committee as a regular member, replacing E. Hodge.  S. Bland distributed copies of the 2010-2015 ECU Academic  Program Plan, for the committee’s information.


IV.    Approval of minutes

Minutes of the September 11, 2009 meeting were approved as presented.


V.      Undergraduate certificate in computer game development

John Placer and Nasseh Tabrizi presented the College of Technology and Computer Science’s request for a new undergraduate certificate program in computer game development.  Motion passed to approve the request pending submission of curriculum vitas for the program coordinator and an instructor who will be teaching some of the courses.


VI.           Film Studies Minor

Michelle Eble and Amanda Klein presented a request for a new interdisciplinary minor in Film Studies to be administered in the Department of English.  Motion passed to approve the request with the recommendation that the School of Communication send a letter of support expressing its intent to add “Film Studies minor” to the prerequisites listed for Communication courses that are part of the minor and that currently list “COMM major or minor” as a prerequisite.


VII.         Realignment of Higher Education Doctoral concentration

Vivian Mott, Sandra Warren and Art Rouse presented a request from the College of Education to realign the Doctoral Degree in Educational Leadership Higher Education Administration concentration, associated faculty, and appropriate resources from the Department of Educational Leadership to the Department of Counselor and Adult Education.  The CIP code will not change; the degree will still be an EdD in Educational Leadership.  Motion passed, with D. Siegel abstaining, to approve the request of the proposal contingent upon receipt of a memo from the College of Education indicating that faculty in the Department of Counselor and Adult Education who teach in the Higher Education Administration concentration will be included in curriculum committee matters in the Department of Educational Leadership that relate to the EdD and will be ex officio with vote.


VIII.                   Other business

The committee discussed changing the meeting time, but decided to keep it at 1:00 p.m.  The question of how to conduct the review of Curriculum Development items in the Faculty Manual will be discussed at the October meeting.


IX.    Adjournment


Chair E. Justiniano adjourned the meeting at 2:50 p.m.



Minutes submitted by Janice S. Lewis