Educational Policies and Planning Committee

Meeting Minutes

September 11, 2009


I.        Call to order: Mark Sprague, Vice-Chair of the Faculty Senate, called the meeting to order at 2:00 p.m. on September 11, 2009 in Rawl Annex 142.


II.      The following persons were present:

Members:  Rose Allen, Dale Knickerbocker, Janice Lewis, Margaret Bauer, Edson Justiniano, Scott Gordon, Elizabeth Hodge


Ex-Officio Members:  Linner Griffin, George Kasperek, David Siegel, Steven Kreshe, Mark Sprague (for Marianna Walker)


Faculty Senate Office:  Lori Lee


III.    Review of committee charge

M. Sprague asked those present to introduce themselves.  He reviewed the committee charge.  Possible revisions to the committee charge were noted.


IV.    Elections

Edson Justiniano was elected Chair, Dale Knickerbocker, Vice Chair, and Janice Lewis, Secretary.  After his election as chair, E. Justiniano took over the running of the meeting.


V.      New Business

Motion passed to hold committee meetings at 1:00 p.m. on the second Friday of each month unless a committee member indicated an unavoidable conflict with that time.


Motion passed to hold an additional meeting at 1:00 p.m. on Friday, September 18 to address three requests already submitted to the committee.  The Chair will set the meeting agenda and contact the individuals who submitted agenda items.  Additional meetings will be scheduled if the need arises during the academic year.


The committee discussed whether members could participate in meetings via telephone or Skype, and if so, whether they would count towards the quorum.  M. Sprague will ask the Faculty Senate Parliamentarian for guidance.


Sharon Bland will attend future committee meetings and has been given speaking privileges.


The Faculty Senate officers requested that the EPPC review the Curriculum Development items in the Faculty Manual and report to the Faculty Senate in November 2009.  The Chair will consider how best to conduct the review.


VI.           Business carried over from 2008-2009

The committee briefly discussed Faculty Senate Resolution #09-30 and decided to defer action until a later meeting. 


VII.         Adjournment


Chair E. Justiniano adjourned the meeting at 3:20 p.m.



Minutes submitted by Janice S. Lewis