Educational Policies and Planning Committee

Meeting Minutes

September 10, 2010


I.                    Call to order:  Marianna Walker, Chair of the Faculty Senate, called the meeting to order at 1:10 p.m. on September 10, 2010 in 303 Rawl.


II.                  The following persons were present:

Regular Members:  Susan Bashinski, Scott Gordon, James Holloway, John Kenney, Janice Lewis, Ed Stellwag

Ex-Officio Members: Deedee Glascoff, Linner Griffin, George Kasperek, David Siegel, Marianna Walker (Brenda Killingsworth also attended as an ex-officio member; Walker has designated Killingsworth as her representative to attend any EPPC meetings Walker is unable to attend)

Guests: Lori Lee

Absent:  Blaise Williams


III.                Walker welcomed the members.  Following introductions, Walker conducted the election for the position of Committee Chair.  Scott Gordon was elected Chair.  Gordon then took over the running of the meeting and conducted the elections for Vice-Chair and Secretary.  Ed Stellwag was elected Vice Chair; Janice Lewis was elected Secretary.


IV.                Griffin informed new members that the EPPC traditionally co-sponsors the Academic Program Development workshop to facilitate planning, preparation and submission of Requests for Inclusion.  The workshop will be held September 17, 2010, from 1:30-3:30 p.m.  Griffin also noted that there will be a workshop on Unit Academic Program Review on October 22, from 1:30-3:30 p.m.  EPPC agreed to co-sponsor this workshop, as well.  Griffin will send EPPC members an announcement about the workshop.  The procedures for Unit Academic Program Review were distributed to EPPC members.


V.                  Business Carried Over From Last Year:  ECU Faculty Manual, Part V. Academic Information, Section III. Curriculum Development

Chancellor Ballard offered additional proposed revisions to the Section in his March 24, 2010 memorandum.  This item will be placed on the agenda for the committee’s October 8 meeting. 


VI.                Meeting Time

The committee’s regular meeting time will be 1:00 p.m.  The regular meeting place will be Rawl Annex 142, although the October meeting will be in 303 Rawl.


VII.              October Agenda Item

The curricular matters submitted by the Mathematics Education Area of the Department of Mathematics, Science, and Instructional Technology Education will be considered at the October 8 meeting.  As a courtesy, Chair Gordon will notify the Chair of the Mathematics Department that this item will be on the agenda. 


VIII.            Preparation for Meetings

Chair Gordon will send meeting agendas to committee members on the Monday preceding each meeting and will include attachments.  He will also put the attachments on Sharepoint, arranged by meeting.


IX.                B.S. in Public Health Degree

Glascoff noted that the request from the Department of Health Education and Promotion to change the name of the Bachelor of Science degree in Health Education and Promotion to Bachelor of Science in Public Health, which was approved by the committee at its March meeting, was rejected by the Chancellor.  After discussion, the committee determined that Glascoff could report to the Department that the committee discussed reasons the change might have been denied and suggest that the Department consider a variation on the name of the degree, if it still wished to make a change.


X.                  Adjournment

There being no further business, Chair Gordon adjourned the meeting at 2:00 p.m.


The next EPPC meeting will be on Friday, October 8, 2010, at 1:00 p.m. in 303 Rawl.


Minutes submitted by Janice S. Lewis