Minutes of the August 31, 2006 Meeting of the

Research/Creative Activity Grants (R/CAG) Committee


Attending: Seodial Deena, Chair, English; Paul Gares, Vice Chair, Geography; Daniel Wong, Allied Health Services; Mark Sprague, Physics; David Rosenthal, Representative of the Chancellor, Business; John Bishop, Economics; Tarek Abdel-Salam, Technology and Computer Science; Jeff Bair, School of Music; Mary Schmidt; College of Education; Suzanne Orr, Health and Human Performance.


Attending ex officio members included Salman Abdulali, Representative of the Chair of the Faculty, Mathematics; Glen Gilbert, Representative of Provost, Health and Human Performance; Alan Schreier, Representative of Vice Chancellor for Research and Graduate Studies; and Joseph Chalovich, Brody School of Medicine.


The meeting, held in Rawl 105, was called to order at 3:00.


The primary business of the committee was the election of officers for the 2006-2007 academic year. Committee members elected Seodial Deena, chair; Paul Gares, vice chair; and John Tucker, secretary.


Business to be considered in subsequent meetings was discussed.


The Committee adjourned at 4:00  p.m.


Submitted by John A. Tucker, Secretary