Faculty Senate Resolution #12-04

Approved by the Faculty Senate: January 24, 2012 Approved by the Chancellor: February 27, 2012

Revisions to the *ECU Faculty Manual*, Part II. University Organization, Subsection I. Organization of the University of North Carolina

Additions are noted in **bold** print and deletions in strikethrough.

Revise and keep in the Faculty Manual.

I. The Organization of the University of North Carolina

In North Carolina, all the public educational institutions that grant baccalaureate degrees are part of The University of North Carolina. East Carolina University is one of sixteen seventeen constituent institutions of the multi-campus state university.

The University of North Carolina, chartered by the NC General Assembly in 1789, was the first public university in the United States to open its doors and the only one to graduate students in the eighteenth century. The first class was admitted in Chapel Hill in 1795. For the next 136 years, the only campus of The University of North Carolina was at Chapel Hill.

In 1877, the NC General Assembly began sponsoring additional institutions of higher education, diverse in origin and purpose. Five were historically black institutions, and another was founded to educate American Indians. Several were created to prepare teachers for the public schools. Others had a technological emphasis. One is a training school for performing artists.

In 1931, the NC General Assembly redefined The University of North Carolina to include three state-supported institutions: the campus at Chapel Hill (now the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill), North Carolina State College (now North Carolina State University at Raleigh), and Woman's College (now the University of North Carolina at Greensboro). The new multi-campus University operated with one board of trustees and one president. By 1969, three additional campuses had joined the University through legislative action: the University of North Carolina at Charlotte, the University of North Carolina at Asheville, and the University of North Carolina at Wilmington.

In 1971, the General Assembly passed legislation bringing into The University of North Carolina the state's ten remaining public senior institutions, each of which had until then been legally separate: Appalachian State University, East Carolina University, Elizabeth City State University, Fayetteville State University, North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University, North Carolina Central University, The North Carolina School of the Arts, Pembroke State University (now the University of North Carolina at Pembroke), Western Carolina University, and Winston-Salem State University. This action created the current original sixteen-campus University. (In 1985, the North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics, a residential high school for gifted students, was declared an affiliated school of The University; in July 2007 NCSSM by legislative action became a constituent institution of the University of North Carolina [http://www.northcarolina.edu/about/mission.htm], making it the seventeenth campus of the University of North Carolina.)

The University of North Carolina Board of Governors is the policy-making body legally charged with the general determination, control, supervision, management, and governance of all affairs of the constituent institutions. It elects the president, who administers The University

(https://www.northcarolina.edu/policy/index.php). The thirty-two voting members of the board of governors are elected by the General Assembly for four-year terms. Former board chairs and board members who are former governors of North Carolina may continue to serve for limited periods as emeritus nonvoting members. The president of The UNC Association of Student Governments, or that student's designee, is also a nonvoting member.

Each of the sixteen seventeen constituent institutions is headed by a chancellor, who is chosen by the board of governors on the president's nomination and is responsible to the president. Each institution has a board of trustees, consisting of eight members elected by the board of governors, four appointed by the governor, and the president of the student body, who serves ex-officio. (The NC School of the Arts has two additional ex-officio members.) Each board of trustees holds extensive powers over academic and other operations of its institution on delegation from the board of governors.

University of North Carolina General Administration http://www.northcarolina.edu/

Board of Governors for the University of North Carolina http://www.northcarolina.edu/bog/index.htm

Constituent Institutions of the University of North Carolina http://www.northcarolina.edu/campus_profiles/index.php