## Faculty Senate Resolution #13-49

Approved by the Faculty Senate: March 19, 2013 Approved by the Chancellor: April 17, 2013 (<u>with stipulation</u>)

Faculty Recommendation on Scholar-Teacher Awards

- Whereas, ECU's Scholar-Teacher Award was established in 1998 by then Vice Chancellor for Academic and Student Affairs Rich Ringeisen to recognize outstanding faculty members who integrate scholarship and teaching; and
- Whereas, Each year academic colleges and schools continue to recognize one or more scholarteacher(s), based on the number of faculty in the unit; and
- Whereas, Faculty members recognized with this award have demonstrated excellence in the classroom, as evidenced by SOIS/SPOTS, peer observation, and recommendations of colleagues and students; and
- Whereas, Faculty members recognized with this award also have outstanding records of scholarly accomplishments, as evidenced by publication in recognized disciplinary venues, integration of research/creative activity in classroom teaching, mentoring of developing scholars, presentations before scholarly organizations, and other outlets appropriate to the discipline; and
- Whereas, A symposium and a luncheon honoring the award recipients are held in conjunction with the Research and Creative Week activities and the recipients' names are engraved on a plaque hung in the Office of Faculty Excellence; and
- Whereas, The award originally consisted of a stipend whereby the Provost matched academic units' funds \$2 for \$1 up to a maximum of \$2,000 to be used for professional development including professional travel, support of integration of research/creative activity and teaching, student research stipends, and/or other legitimate professional expenditures; and
- Whereas, Monetary funding for the past three years has been eliminated.

Therefore Be It Resolved that the Faculty Senate recommends that a monetary award of at least \$1,000 be reinstated for this prestigious teaching award.

Therefore Be It Further Resolved that a monetary award of at least \$1,000 be awarded to each of the Scholar-Teacher award winners this April 2013 when they are recognized by the University community.