Faculty Senate


Faculty Officers
Faculty Senate
Faculty Manual
University Standing Committees
Faculty Assembly
Academic Unit Codes of Operation
University Calendars
Issues of Importance for Faculty

Minutes: meeting of 9/09/05 (revised 10/14) 

Educational Policies and Planning Committee




Regular Members

  • Present: Shlapentokh, Albright, Knickerbocker, Pagliari, Pease
  • Excused: Weismiller, Jordan

Ex-Officio Members

  • Present: Smith, Griffin, Eason, Hodson, Glascoff for Rigsby

Elections of new officers:

  • Professor Dale Knickerbocker was elected Chairman.
  • Professor Leslie Pagliari was elected Vice Chairman
  • Professor Bruce Albright was elected Secretary

Items Discussed:

Professor Glascoff, Vice Chair of the Faculty expressed concerns about the proposed revision of the Faculty Manual Part V.  The request for revision has come from Provost Smith.  The revision and past problems were discussed.  Dr Griffin indicated that the draft was reviewed by the Academic Program Development Team not the Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs Office.  The committee agreed by consensus it would be beneficial to contact the Curriculum Committees to determine if there are problems in the routing and review of curriculum proposals. 


The continuation of a proposal to investigate the cost of new PhD programs and readiness for implementation was discussed.


The question was raised whether the committee charge has been changed to include distant education proposals.  The committee was informed that this is the case.



Motion approved to accept the EPPC final report for academic year 04-05.   Moved by Hodson, seconded by Knickerbocker


Motion approved to compare old and new flow sheets and checklists produced by the Academic Affairs, Office of Academic Programs at the next meeting.  Moved by Eason, seconded by Pease   


Motion approved to change EPPC meeting time to 2:10 on Fridays.  Moved by Hodson, seconded by Shlapentokh


Dr. Griffin agreed to present a status report on the programs submitted to UNC-OP


Submitted by: Bruce C. Albright, secretary