Board of Governors Distinguished Professor for Teaching Awards
Six Board of Governors Distinguished Professor for Teaching Awards recognize and support excellent teaching at East Carolina University. The recipients of these awards will be recognized at a variety of functions and each will receive a $1,000 award. Please see below for details of eligibility and selection procedures for this award. 

Faculty are nominated for these awards by their college in Academic Affairs and their school/college in Health Sciences. Faculty members should consult their school or college for these nomination procedures. 

Previous Recipients

East Carolina University Selection Procedures

Eligibility for Selection

Nominees must:
  • be a full-time faculty member at East Carolina University;
  • have taught at East Carolina University for three or more years;
  • be teaching in the academic year in which they are selected;
  • not have won the award within the last four years;
  • have demonstrated excellent or exceptional teaching ability.

Selection Procedures and Guidelines

Faculty members are nominated by the colleges in Academic Affairs and the school/college in Health Sciences. The colleges and schools established their own selection procedures for choosing their nominees. Deans will submit the names of their college or school nominees to the appropriate Vice Chancellor by 5 p.m. on September 17, 2012. Letters of nomination should also be provided to the Office for Faculty Excellence (Mailstop 530, Joyner Library).

The maximum number of nominations is distributed among the colleges in Academic Affairs and the schools in Health Sciences according to their relative number of faculty (SODM is to be determined):

School or College

Maximum Nominations
Thomas Harriot College of Arts and Sciences and Brody School of Medicine   5 each
College of Fine Arts and Communication   3
Colleges of Business, Education, Health and Human Performance, Human Ecology and College of Nursing   2 each
Colleges of Allied Health Sciences and Technology and Computer Science   1 each

Nominated faculty must have their portfolios in the Office for Faculty Excellence, Joyner Library, no later than 5 p.m. on November 1, 2012.

(Nominees will also be asked to complete an information sheet with their name as it should be listed, academic rank, department, and college, as well as a photograph at least 2.5” x 3” with a minimum resolution of 300.  Nominees without a photograph can contact the OFE about having one taken.)

The portfolio materials, not to exceed 50 pages, must include:
  • an itemized list of all materials in the portfolio;
  • a brief written statement (not to exceed three pages, double-spaced) which articulates the nominee’s teaching philosophy and methods used to achieve his or her educational goals;
  • copies of syllabi and other relevant course materials;
  • a summary of Student Opinion of Instruction Survey (SOIS) student ratings (Summaries from the new SPOTS or unit teaching evaluations may be substituted for courses where SOIS is not administered.). Nominees will be provided a revised format for the summary of student ratings;
  • a letter of support from three-five former students (each not to exceed two pages, double-spaced);
  • peer evaluations, if available, or other approved evaluation methods listed in Methods for Assessing Teaching Effectiveness, Faculty Senate Resolution #91-28.
By mid-January 2013, the selection committee will send forward to the Chancellor names of recipients for six Board of Governors Distinguished Professor for Teaching Awards and supporting documentation for each.