bulb news 1

   Division of Research and Graduate Studies




Welcome to our new website!
We hope to make your search for
information more fruitful and less
Some of the new features include
the Inventors Portal an
electronic means to disclose your

Also, the Inventors Handbook
an invaluable guide to inventor-
ship; an absolute must have!

Please do not hesitate to
contact us with any questions
or concerns.

Mark Foley
Interim Director

      1357766863_bird_twitter_new_singleOTT TWITTER 



2011-2012 OTT Annual Report

ECU OTT Survey - Wellspring Worldwide

Milken Institute - Mind to Market  




     Division of Research & Graduate Studies  
       and the National Academy of  Inventors® 
        2013 Celebration of 
         I n n o v a t i o n   Event
2013 NAI C Lobby 2
                Networking ECHI Lobby      

                 Dr. Rachel Roper

                Dr. Gregg Givens 

                 Dr. Darrell Neufer 

                 Dr. Andrew Stuart  

Middle School Innovators
   ECU Middle School Innovators Academy

Pitt Pirates Robotics Team
                  First Team®2642-
              Pitt Pirates Robotic Team








East Carolina University
recognized inventors and local
young innovators during its 2013
Celebration of Innovation at the
East Carolina Heart Institute on 
Wednesday, April 3rd.

The well-attended event, which
was hosted by the Office of
Technology Transfer, honored
those ECU inventors that
received issued U.S. patents
during 2012 and recognized
inventors being inducted into
the National Academy of
Inventors (NAI), of which ECU
is a charter institution.

Inventors recognized during
the ceremony were Dr. Ethan
Anderson, Dr. Gregg Givens, 
Dr. Joseph Kalinowski,
Dr. Darrell Neufer, Dr. Michael
Rastatter, Dr. Rachel Roper,
and Dr. Andrew Stuart.
New inductees into the NAI
included Drs. Roper, Neufer
and Anderson.

Dr. George Newkome, Chief
Research Officer and President
and CEO of the University of 
Akron Research Foundation, 
delivered a moving keynote
address that highlighted the
process of innovation he 
followed during his career
as a chemist. Dr. Newkome
noted how observations of 
simple patterns in nature
influenced his research
leading to multiple patented

A new addition to this year's
event was the recognition of
local student innovators and
the mentors and sponsors that
made their accomplishments
possible. Graduates of the 
ECU Middle School Innovators
Academy led by Wayne Godwin
and advised by Debbie Huggins 
and Jane Austen Behan were
recognized first. Two robotics
teams that competed in local
and national competitions were
then acknowledged. The First
Team® 2642 – Pitt Pirates
robotic team comprised of
students from across Pitt
County and mentored by Bill
McClung and John Gresham
were represented well at event.

The team demonstrated their
robot's Frisbee launching
capabilities prior to the ceremony.

Finally, the ECU ATMAE Robot
Competition team advised by 
Amy Frank and Jimmy Linn were
recognized for outstanding
student achievement and
their dedication to innovation.
This team placed second in a
national challenge competition
in Nashville, TN last November.
The event afforded attendees
the opportunity to network with
the students, the honorees, 
and some of ECU's most notable

Mark Foley, Interim Director of
the Office of Technology
Transfer, officiated. Dr. Ted
Morris, Associate Vice Chancellor
of Innovation and Development
welcomed the guests. Dr. Ron 
Mitchelson, Interim Vice 
Chancellor of Research and
Graduate Studies, introduced
the program with some well-
researched facts on Akron
and its history.

Sponsors who graciously
supported this event included
Myers, Bigel, Sibley and Sajovec, 
P.A., Pitt County Development
Commission, North Carolina's
Eastern Region, and the North
Carolina Biotechnology Center.
Gifts were donated by ECU
Business Services, Office Depot,
Staples, and University Advancement. 

Mark Foley,
Interim Director


Tell a friend about this page.
All fields required.
Can be sent to only one email address at a time.
Share Facebook Icon Twitter Icon