Social Science Scholars

Tell a friend about this page.
All fields required.
Can be sent to only one email address at a time.
Share Facebook Icon Twitter Icon
Social Science Scholars

Social Science Scholars is a unique scholarship opportunity for Honors- and EC Scholars-eligible students who wish to study the following areas at ECU: Anthropology, Criminal Justice, Economics, Geography, Planning, and Environment, History, Political Science, Psychology, and Sociology. This program is offered jointly by the Honors College and the Thomas Harriot College of Arts and Sciences at East Carolina University.

Home to 16 academic departments and 17 interdisciplinary programs, the Thomas Harriot College of Arts and Sciences is rich in tradition and innovation. Social Science Scholars benefit from dedicated faculty committed to effective classroom instruction, a model of student access that motivates students from diverse backgrounds, and a mission of service in the Thomas Harriot College of Arts and Sciences. Social Science Scholars participate in leadership and community engagement opportunities and build close relationships with the Harriot College leadership team, faculty, and advisory board members.

Social Science Scholars benefit from a generous scholarship award beyond the scholarship and benefits awarded by the Honors College and/or EC Scholars. Freshmen Social Science Scholars will live and learn in the Honors College collegial residence environment.

Students who are awarded a position in the Social Science Scholars Program must maintain the following standards throughout the program:

•    Earn a minimum GPA (both overall and in social science courses) of 3.5
•    Maintain personal and professional conduct consistent with the high standards and expectations of the Honors College, the Thomas Harriot College of Arts and Sciences, and East Carolina University
•    Participate in required group and enrichment activities

For additional information about the Social Science Scholars Program, please contact Dr. Lester Zeager, Professor of Economics, at or 252-328-6408.

facebook  youtube
instagram flickr
twitter email