Inside Cupola

 Board of Visitors | Membership Directory

Steve Brown

Steve Brown

Kane Realty Corporation - Senior Vice President
Email:  sbrown@kanerealtycorp.com
Education:  BSBA, East Carolina University 1978
BOV Emeritus:  Former Chair

  • ECU Educational Foundation - Member
  • ECU Alumni Association - Life Member
  • CCIM Institute - Member

Joel Butler

Joel Butler

Chief External Affairs Officer, Vidant Health
Email:  jbutler@vidanthealth.com
Education:  BA Oakwood College, MPA East Carolina University
BOV Emeritus:  Former Chair


Doug Byrd

Doug Byrd

Retired, NC Department of Commerce
Email: dbyrd3@charter.net
Education: BSBA, East Carolina University 1969
BOV Emeritus:  Former Chair

  • 25 plus years in state Economic Development
  • VanSant Society; ECU Alumni Association
  • 44 plus year member of Pirate Club

Shireley Carraway

Shirley Carraway

Retired Educator
Email:  shirleycarraway@suddenlink.net
Education:  BS, MA & Ed.D, East Carolina University
BOV Class of 2019


Walter Cates

Walter Cates

Hubbard & Cates- Attorney/Partner
Email:  wbcates@roxboro.net  
Education:  BSBA Accounting, East Carolina University 1972 JD Campbell University 1979
BOV Class of 2018


Alisa Chapman

Alisa Chapman

Vice President for Academic and University Programs, UNC General Administration
Email:  Chapman@northcarolina.edu
Education: BA, MA, & Ed.D., East Carolina University
BOV Class of 2019


Brad Congelton

Bradley Congleton

Email:  Bradley.congleton@gmail.com
Education:  BS Sports Studies, East Carolina University 2009
BOV Class of 2018


Jennifer Congleton

Jennifer Congleton

Administrator, Pastoral Care & Volunteer Services - Vidant Medical Center
Email: Jennifer.Congleton@vidanthealth.com
Education: BS Public Health 1979; MA Ed. Adult Education 1981, East Carolina University
BOV Class of 2021 

  • ECU Alumni Association, Former Board Member 
  • Pitt Community College Foundation Board, member 
  • Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated 
  • The Links, Incorporated, President, Wilson-Rocky Mount-Tarboro Chapter

Picture Not Available

P.J. Connelly


John Cooper

John Cooper

Retired, Federal Government
Email: jjcooper322@gmail.com
Education: BSBA Economics, East Carolina University
BOV Class of 2020

  • ECU Board of Visitors, Secretary
  • 41+ years corporate CEO and government administrator
  • Served three Administrations of United States Presidents

 PreviousPage 2 of 9 Next