Information Technology Governance

Full Committee Memberships

Information Resources Coordinating Council | Technology Steering Committee

Information Resources Coordinating Council

The IRCC recommends direction for shared campus technologies and prioritizes IT projects to align with ECU strategic goals while facilitating campus-wide collaboration and communication.

The IRCC meets the fourth Wednesday of each month during the academic year in Cotanche 108 (8:00 a.m.). Visit the IRCC blog for meeting minutes.

Wendy Creasey - Committee Chair
Director, Academic Technologies
Information Technology & Computing Services

Don Sweet
Vice Chancellor and
Chief Information Officer
Information Technology & Computing Services

Phillip Allen
Director of Informatics
School of Dental Medicine

Andrew Anderson
Director, Clinical Information Technology
Brody School of Medicine

George Bailey
Chair, Philosophy
Representative, Humanities

Charles Baldwin
Instructional Technology Consultant
College of Health and Human Performance

Chal Benson
Professor, Department of Mathematics
Representative, Social Sciences

Dana Brooks
Technology Support Analyst
Representative, Research & Graduate Studies

Robert Carroll
Professor, Department of Physiology
Representative, Research & Graduate Studies

Michael Dixon
Instructional Technology Consultant
College of Fine Arts and Communication

Karl Faser
Instructional Technology Consultant
College of Nursing

Amy Frank
Technology and Computer Science
Representative, Faculty Senate

William Gee
Associate Professor, Academic Library Services
Representative, Faculty Senate

Elizabeth Hodge
Associate Professor
College of Education

Chris Hodges
Tech Support Analyst
Joyner Library

Brian Housand
Assistant Professor
College of Education

Derrick Isler
Tech Support Analyst
Graduate School

Jason Jones
Information Technology Consultant
COB - Tech Info and Operations

Beverly King
Director, Institutional Research
Institutional Planning, Assessment & Research

Diana Lys
Director of Assessment and Accreditation
College of Education

Donna McDonald
Associate Director
Multimedia & Technology Services
Information Technology and Computing Services

Elmer Poe
Associate Vice Chancellor
Representative, Provost's Office

Richard Ramirez
Instructional Technology Consultant
College of Human Ecology

Clayton Sessoms
Director, Division of Continuing Studies

Jeff Shinpaugh
Professor, Physics
Representative, Sciences

Brad Simons
Business Tech Applications Specialist
Representative, Student Affairs

Joel Sweatte
IT Director
Technology and Computer Science

Leonard Trujillo
Chair, Department of Occupational Therapy
Representative, Allied Health

Jill Twark
Associate Professor, Foreign Languages
Representative, Faculty

back to the top

Technology Steering Committee

The Technology Steering Committee (TSC) sets the university's IT direction, investments, IT funding model and budget structure through input from Faculty Senate representatives, colleges, libraries and administrative units.

The TSC meets on an "as needed" basis.



The Technology Steering Committee (TSC) provides overarching governance for the strategic direction of Information Technology (IT) at East Carolina University. The TSC will focus its efforts on ensuring consistent and deliberate alignment of IT goals with the university’s strategic goals. The committee will review campus-wide policies, recommend prioritization of institutional IT projects to the Executive Council (EC) and provide input to the CIO regarding overall technology needs of the campus. The committee will monitor and report progress toward a mature IT governance model and identify opportunities to leverage technology investment to its fullest potential. With a visionary view to the future needs of the university, the committee will provide a stabilizing influence on ECU’s technology investments.

The TSC will provide input to the CIO regarding:

Prioritization – Guidance and recommendations to the CIO/EC for institutional-wide IT projects

Strategic Alignment – Ensure the IT strategy is in alignment with the university’s strategic vision and goals

Value Delivery – Assure that IT strategy delivers benefits that enable the university to achieve its operational objectives

Risk Management – Awareness of IT risks and development of mitigation strategies

The TSC may receive input/recommendations from the CIO and IRCC regarding:

Infrastructure – Changes to the network, hardware computing, and software systems

Architecture – Standards that affect technical direction regarding the use of IT

Services – New and revised changes to the IT Services Catalog

Compliance – Policies and regulations for compliance to industry, best security practices and state and federal statues

Reporting Structure

The TSC shares information with community stakeholders, Academic and Executive Councils when appropriate. The IRCC makes recommendations for approval to the TSC when appropriate and is responsible for sharing decision and actions with the TSC.


The committee has a deliberative role versus authoritative with the expectation to make recommendations to the CIO and/or EC depending on the scope of the issue being considered.

Meeting Frequency

The committee will meet on an as needed basis.


Committee membership includes senior leadership from across all campus divisions.

back to the top