ECU won its first American Athletic Conference baseball championship May 24 in Florida as the Pirates defeated the Houston Cougars 9-1. Senior shortstop Hunter Allen was named the conference tournament’s Most Outstanding Player. Following play in the NCAA tournament, the Pirates completed the season with a record of 40-22 in coach Cliff Godwin’s first season. (Photo courtesy American Athletic Conference/Ben Solomon)
Untitled Document


Tell a friend about this page.
All fields required.
Can be sent to only one email address at a time.
Share Facebook Icon Twitter Icon
Untitled Document
  2000s     1990s     1970s - 80s
1950s - 60s
1930s - 40s   
1920s & below
In Memoriam  

By Joanne Kollar

Sarah Ellen Boswell wed Joshua Mylan Anderson ’12 on April 25 at First Baptist Church, Wilson. The wedding party included Zachary Michael Anderson ’12, twin brother of the groom; Lucian Thomas Hughes ’12; Tessa Rose McManus ’13 and Steven Robert Royal Jr. ’12. She teaches 11th-grade history at Beddingfield High School, Wilson. He is an operations manager with Cummins Engine, Rocky Mount. Dale Buie, Southern Pines Elementary principal, was named Principal of the Year of Moore County Schools. Army Pfc. Tevin D. King graduated from basic combat training at Fort Jackson, S.C.

Kiahna J. Johnson is the health educator and preparedness coordinator for Lenoir County Health Department. Ira Rushing received the Mississippi College Law Alumni Award, presented to one or two current students on the basis of scholarship, leadership and potential as a member of the legal profession. Erin Madison Wrenn wed Jeffrey Lloyd Johnson on Oct. 11 at the Wrenn Farm, Roxboro. The wedding party included Katie Apple. She works at Central Regional Hospital, Butner.

Catherine Starr Davis wed Kenneth James Mullen on Oct. 25 at Roanoke Baptist Church, Roanoke Rapids. The wedding party included Caleb Alexander ’06, Brandi Crumb ’13, Brandon Elvis and Raoul Mata ’05 ’07. She is an RN at Vidant Medical Center, Greenville. He began graduate school in ECU’s nurse anesthesia program in January 2015.

Cameron Scott Fleig wed Erin Elizabeth Hester on Oct. 4 at the home of Ronald and Bess Whitt, Hurdle Mills. The wedding party included Matt Blanchard, Dustin Fleig ’08 and Andrew Norris ’12. He works with Fastenal, Holly Springs. Olivia Hall is Teacher of the Year at Roseboro-Salemburg Middle School, Sampson County, where she teaches language arts. Barksdale Barnes Thompson ’11 ’13 wed Jerry Taylor Matkins Jr. on April 11 at First United Methodist Church, Wilson. The wedding party included Brandon Valdez Blount ’12 and Matthew Tyler Price. In Greenville, she teaches sixth-grade math at C.M. Eppes Middle School, and he is pursuing a master’s degree in school administration and is an eighth-grade science teacher at E.B. Aycock Middle School.

Paige Elizabeth Dildy wed Tyler Carson Davis on May 2 at The Leaning Tree, Bailey. The wedding party included Jacob Wayne Best ’10, Allison Marian Holland ’10, Travis Keith Howington, Jordan Gray Jones ’10, Charles Bryant Pope ’10 and Sheryl Watson Williams. In Wilson, she teaches third grade at Margaret Hearne Elementary School, and he works with SPC Mechanical. Alexis Tecosky is an agent with Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices Southern Coast Real Estate, Charleston, S.C.

William David Tripp wed Rhonda Michelle Casey on April 17 on the beach in Corolla on the Outer Banks. The wedding party included Jake Davis ’07 and Ben Stover. He works with Power Products and Solutions, Charlotte

Dr. Amy Lenfestey Gagnon ’07 ’08 ’12 and Taylor Gagnon ’08 ’09 had a daughter in 2014.

Ethan Lenker, Pitt County Schools superintendent, was named Superintendent of the Year by the N.C. Association of Educators.

Jody McClenny of Newport Elementary School is Carteret County Public School Assistant Principal of the Year.

Stephanie Edwards ’04 ’06, a Title I reading teacher at Brinson Memorial Elementary School, is the 2015-16 Teacher Ambassador for Craven County Schools. Kelly Kerns Hammerle has worked with the Department of Interior, Bureau of Ocean Energy Management, Office of Strategic Resources since 2012. She lives in Bristow, Va. Michael David Holt, vice president and commercial lender in Greenville, was recognized as a top commercial banker at Southern Bank’s annual Best Bankers Event.

Joshua B. Mauney was honored with the Triangle Business Journal’s 40 Under 40 Leadership Award. He is president of Paragon Building Group and Paragon Safety Group, Raleigh.

Cynthia Jenkins is planning director for Edgecombe County.


Col. Tommy Macon was named Administrator of the Year by the N.C. Association of Educational Office Professionals. He is assistant superintendent for academics and student services with the Sampson County Schools District. Larry Williford is The Daily Reflector’s Boys’ Coach of the Year. He coaches the Farmville Central High School boys basketball team.
First Book

Dear Carolina, the first book by Kristy Woodson Harvey ’10 of Kinston, is a moving debut novel about two mothers — one biological and one adoptive — from a compelling new voice in Southern women’s fiction.

It tells the story of two women who couldn’t be more different but who love the same child. One has a thriving career, a loving husband and a son. The other is a 19-year-old recovering alcoholic who finds herself pregnant. They forge a lifelong connection as one struggles to be the mother she knows her daughter deserves even after she allows the other to adopt her child.

Harvey has an undergraduate degree in journalism from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and a master’s in English from ECU. Originally from Salisbury and the daughter of the mayor there, Harvey is a regular contributor for the Salisbury Post and Domino magazine. Her husband is a dentist in Kinston.

Dear Carolina
Penguin Books
Paperback, 320 pages

Kenan Fellow

Jennifer Stalls, sixth-grade science teacher at C.M. Eppes Middle School, Greenville, was selected for the 2015-16 Kenan Fellows class. Her project is titled “Students Discover: Symbiosis in the Soil.”

She is working toward a master’s degree in middle grades education with a concen­tration in science.

Earlier this year, she received the N.C. Science Teachers Association’s District One Outstanding Science Teacher Award.