Welcome to ECU
 Points East

Home Image - Points East

For a century, East Carolina University has served the people of North Carolina and the nation. From modest beginnings as a school for training teachers, ECU has grown to become an emerging, national research university with an enrollment of more than 24,000.*

In 1907, East Carolina was founded to alleviate the desperate shortage of teachers in the eastern part of the state. Our College of Education continues to supply the nation with some of its best educators, and now it has been joined by programs of high distinction in health care and the fine and performing arts. The university is no longer a small school but an engine of economic development and a hotbed of discovery.

Today, East Carolina is a constituent institution of the University of North Carolina and offers 104 bachelor’s degree programs, 74 master’s degree programs, 4 specialist degree programs, 1 first-professional MD program, and 17 doctoral programs in our professional colleges and schools, Thomas Harriot College of Arts and Sciences, and the Brody School of Medicine. With a mission of teaching, research, and service, East Carolina University is a dynamic institution connecting people and ideas, finding solutions to problems, and seeking the challenges of the future.

East Carolina University. Tomorrow starts here.

*Fall 2006