BOT April Header

Outgoing Board of Trustees members (left to right) Ryan Beeson, Terry Yeargan, Danny Scott and Steve Jones stand with Chancellor Cecil Staton. (Photos by Cliff Hollis)


Outgoing board members thanked for service

April 28, 2017

ECU News Services

During the April 28 meeting of the East Carolina University Board of Trustees, four outgoing members were recognized for their commitment to the board and the university.

Board chair Steve Jones and members Terry Yeargan, Danny Scott and ECU Student Government Association president Ryan Beeson were presented with framed certificates commemorating their service by Chancellor Cecil Staton.

Jones (left) presents Scott with a gift during their last board meeting.

"These gentlemen exemplify Pirate pride, love and commitment to this university," said Staton.

In his closing remarks, Jones, who is completing his second term on the board and two years as chairperson, thanked fellow board members for their dedication.

"The energy everyone puts in is tireless. The future is bright for East Carolina," said Jones.

He listed several highlights from his tenure on the board, including welcoming the first class of students to the School of Dental Medicine and Honors College, the Millennial campus designation, hiring Chancellor Staton and the opening of Gateway Residence Hall.

During the meeting the board passed a resolution in support of naming the 10th Street Connector in Greenville, located near ECU's campus, for the late Dr. Leo Jenkins and the 10th Street Connector Bridge for Dr. Andrew Best. Jenkins served as the sixth president of ECU from 1960 to 1978 and worked with Best, a pioneering physician in eastern North Carolina, to establish the Brody School of Medicine and peacefully integrate the university.

Board members also approved the conferral of 5,542 degrees for spring commencement, which will take place May 5 at Dowdy-Ficklen Stadium. During the University Affairs committee meeting Thursday, Provost Ron Mitchelson noted that ECU is the only school in the UNC system to graduate doctors, dentists and engineers. ECU also graduates the most students from Tier 1 and Tier 2 counties, the most economically distressed counties in the state, than any other school in the university system, he said.

A resolution formally creating the East Carolina University Laboratory School, to be located at South Greenville Elementary School, was approved during Friday's meeting. ECU will enroll the youngest Pirates ever in the school this fall. The ECU College of Education, under the leadership of Dean Grant Hayes, worked in partnership with Pitt County Schools to create the lab school as a result of a N.C. Board of Governors mandate to improve outcomes for low-performing elementary students. ECU is one of eight UNC system schools chosen by state officials to operate a lab school.

"We are way ahead of the curve and leading the other schools in the system," Mitchelson said. 

In other business, the board:

  • Received an update on ECU's strategic planning process that is underway to align with a comprehensive UNC system plan. The five themes of the system plan are access, student success, affordability and efficiency, economic impact and community engagement, and excellent and diverse institutions.

  • Approved changing the name of the East Carolina Center for Nursing Leadership to the East Carolina Consortium for Nursing Leadership to reflect the group's change in mission from research to service. It will no longer be designated as a UNC system center. The consortium will continue to work with area partners and promote leadership capacity of nurses in the region through mentorship, education and collaboration.

  • Approved the 2017-2018 slate of officers for the ECU Board of Visitors.

  • Received updates on a comprehensive advancement campaign and campus safety.

  • Attended a dinner and reception honoring outgoing trustees, Board of Governors members and Chancellor’s Amethyst winners.

ECU Board of Trustees  

BOT Footer