MENU
Media relations:

Main Campus: (252) 328-6481 or ecunews@ecu.edu
Health Sciences: (252) 744-2482 or kennedyk@ecu.edu
Athletics: (252) 737-1274 or mclellant@ecu.edu

What We Do:

ECU News Services covers events, issues and stories for the university community.

  • We work with colleges and departments to get university news published online and distributed to media outlets.

  • We work with news media to help reporters and news directors cover events, topics and issues involving ECU or incorporating expert opinion from within the ECU community.

  • We play a communications role on the university's emergency response team. Those duties include crafting and sending ECU alerts and providing public updates during weather or public safety emergencies.

  • We publish news about the university on the ECU.edu, the ECU News Services page, the ECU Now blog, and East. We also maintain a list of university experts on our ECU Experts List.
Administration:

ms2

Mary Schulken
Executive Director of Communication,
Public Affairs & Marketing
252-328-6482
schulkenma@ecu.edu


Howard

Tonya Howard
Executive assistant
252-328-6481
howardt@ecu.edu

News Services Staff:
Hutson

Jeannine Hutson

Director of News Services
252-328-1164
hutsonj@ecu.edu



setzer

Kelly Setzer
Director of New Media
252-328-1163
setzerk14@ecu.edu




Smith

Jamie Smith
Staff writer
Media relations
252-328-1162
smithjami15@ecu.edu


baity

Crystal Baity
Staff writer
Media relations
252-328-1159
baityc@ecu.edu
 


Norwood

Jules Norwood
Staff writer
Media relations
252-328-2836
norwoodd15@ecu.edu
 


placeholder

(Vacant)
Staff writer
Media relations
252-328-6481
ecunews@ecu.edu
Alumni Association

hollis

Cliff Hollis
Photographer
252-328-6481
hollise@ecu.edu

boyd1

Doug Boyd

Editor, East magazine
Staff writer
252-737-1973
boydd@ecu.edu

klindworth

Rich Klindworth

Staff writer
Video content producer
252-737-2695
klindworthr16@ecu.edu

University Advancement