youtube twitter facebook rss feed
Dr. Susan Keen, a family practitioner, is one of several ECU physicians to make the "Best Doctors" list for the first time this year. (Photo by Cliff Hollis)


Fifty ECU physicians selected for annual list

Nov. 8, 2012

By Doug Boyd
ECU News Services

Fifty physicians from the Brody School of Medicine at East Carolina University have been chosen by their peers for inclusion in the 2013 "Best Doctors in America” list.

The annual list is compiled by Best Doctors Inc., a Boston-based group that surveys more than 45,000 physicians across the United States who previously have been included in the listing asking whom they would choose to treat themselves or their families.

Approximately 5 percent of the physicians who practice in North Carolina make the annual list. A partial list of the state’s best doctors will be in the December issue of “Business North Carolina” magazine.

The ECU physicians on the list are Dr. William A. Burke, dermatology; Drs. Jon Firnhaber, Susan Keen, Greg W. Knapp, Lars C. Larsen, Tae Joon Lee, Gary I. Levine, Kenneth Steinweg and Ricky Watson, family medicine; Drs. Paul P. Cook and Keith M. Ramsey, infectious diseases; Drs. David Goff and Nathan Brinn, pediatrics and internal medicine; Drs. Mary Jane Barchman and Paul Bolin, nephrology; Drs. Raymond Dombroski and Edward R. Newton, obstetrics and gynecology; Drs. David Hannon and Charlie J. Sang Jr., pediatric cardiology; and Drs. Glenn Harris, William E. Novotny and Ronald M. Perkin, pediatric critical care.

Also listed are Dr. Michael Reichel, pediatric developmental and behavioral problems; Dr. David  N. Collier, pediatric obesity; Dr. Daniel P. Moore, pediatric physical medicine and rehabilitation; Dr. Elaine Cabinum-Foeller, pediatric abuse; Dr. Diana J. Antonacci, John Diamond and Kaye L. McGinty, child and adolescent psychiatry; Dr. Scott S. MacGilvray, neonatal medicine; Drs. Lorraine Basnight, Karin Marie Hillenbrand, Thomas G. Irons, Suzanne Lazorick, Dale A. Newton, John Olsson, Kathleen V. Previll and Charles Willson, general pediatrics; Drs. Robert A. Shaw, Yash Kataria, Sunil Sharma and Mark Bowling, pulmonary medicine; Drs. Robert Harland, Michael Rotondo and Eric Toschlog, surgery; Dr. Emmanuel Zervos, surgical oncology; Dr. Danielle Walsh, pediatric surgery; Dr. W. Randolph Chitwood Jr., cardiothoracic surgery; Dr. Eleanor Harris, radiation oncology; and Dr. Charles S. Powell, vascular surgery.

Untitled Document