Committees announced for ECU Chancellor search

Oct. 5, 2015

ECU News Services

Steve Jones, Chairman of the East Carolina Board of Trustees, has announced the formation and membership of two committees to begin the process of selecting the next chancellor of the university. Steve Jones will chair the statutorily required Chancellor Search Committee, and the Leadership Working Group will be co-chaired by Vice Chancellors Virginia Hardy and Chris Dyba.

“Utilizing a search committee and leadership group will allow for broader, more meaningful participation in the process by various constituencies and our university partners,” Jones said.

The Chancellor Search Committee members include:
  • Steve Jones, Raleigh (Chair)
  • Kieran Shanahan, J.D., Raleigh  (Vice Chair)
  • Marcus Albernaz, M.D., Greenville
  • Kathy Brown, Greenville
  • Joel Butler, Grimesland
  • Edwin Clark, Greenville
  • Jeff Compher, Greenville
  • Paul Cunningham, M.D., Grimesland
  • Deborah Davis, Richmond, Virginia
  • Fielding Miller, Raleigh
  • Eliza Monroe, Greenville
  • Lisa Ormond, Greenville
  • John Stiller, Ph.D., Greenville
  • Marianna Walker, Ph.D., Greenville
  • Margaret Ward, Burlington
  • David White, Ph.D., Greenville
  • Henry Hinton, Greenville  (Board of Governors Liaison)

The Leadership Working Group includes:
  • Chris Dyba, Greenville (Co-Chair)
  • Virginia Hardy, Ph.D., Greenville (Co-Chair)
  • Angela Allen, Raleigh
  • Patricia Anderson, Ph.D., Greenville
  • Sabrina Bengel, New Bern
  • Jim Bolding, Cary
  • David Bond, Raleigh
  • Richard Brown, Emerald Isle
  • Sylvia Brown, Ed.D., Greenville
  • Tony Cannon, Greenville
  • Morgan Faircloth, Fairmont
  • John Fletcher, Ph.D., Greenville
  • Chris Gauland, D.P.M., Greenville
  • Dan Gerlach, Rocky Mount
  • Phil Hodges, Williamston
  • James Holloway, J.D., Greenville
  • Jasper Lewis, D.D.S., Greenville
  • Francisco Limon, Chicago, Illinois
  • Derek Maher, Ph.D., Greenville
  • Glenda Moultrie, Derwood, Maryland
  • Carl Rogers, Wrightsville Beach
  • Mike Rogers, Cary
  • Sam Sears, Ph.D., Greenville
  • Tom Taft, J.D., Greenville
  • Walter Williams, Greenville

“I am delighted that we have identified a committee and leadership group composed of dedicated leaders willing to serve. This is an important first step in the process of finding and selecting the next chancellor to lead ECU,” Chairman Jones said.

Chancellor Steve Ballard announced this summer his plans to step down effective July 1, 2016. He has served as chancellor since 2004. 

At the conclusion of the search, the Board of Trustees will forward a slate of three unranked finalists to the UNC system president for consideration. Upon nomination by the president, the new chancellor must be elected by the UNC Board of Governors, which oversees the UNC system. 

Updates on the committees' progress will be posted to the following web site: