ECU News Services

youtube twitter facebook rss feed

Chancellor announces administrative searches reorganizations

(Jan. 18, 2002)   —   Chancellor William V. Muse has appointed committees to lead the searches for two vice chancellors at East Carolina University and also has announced several administrative and organizational changes.

The position of vice chancellor for academic affairs will be upgraded by adding the title of provost and designating it as the chief academic officer for the university, Muse said. The redefined position also will oversee graduate studies and student life. Dr. Tom Feldbush, vice chancellor for research and graduate studies, will chair the search. Dr. Robert J. Thompson is interim vice chancellor for academic affairs.

The search committee for a vice chancellor for health sciences will be led by Dr. Phyllis Horns, who will continue to fill the position on an interim basis. Muse said he will ask the committee to look for a medical doctor with significant leadership experience to serve in this role.

Dr. Peter Kragel will continue to serve as interim dean of the Brody School of Medicine until a process for appointing a permanent dean is developed by the new vice chancellor.

Muse said he hopes to be able to fill both vice chancellor positions by July 1.

He also said the position of vice chancellor for research and graduate studies will be restructured as the vice chancellor for research, economic development and community engagement. Muse said Feldbush will be asked "to place greater emphasis on developing programs that will make ECU a more effective catalyst for economic development and that will involve the university more fully with the external community." The changes will be effective July 1.

Dr. Austin Bunch has been named chief of staff in the chancellor’s office, effective Jan. 1. He had held the position on an interim basis, and he will assume greater responsibilities for day-to-day operations in the chancellor’s office. Bunch will supervise staff members who report to the chancellor with the exception of the vice chancellors, the director of athletics and the executive assistant to the chancellor. He will continue to have direct responsibility for university relations, marketing and special events. Muse said that a staff member will be hired soon to assume Bunch’s former government relations responsibilities.

Members of the provost search committee are Dr. Gary Lowe, associate vice chancellor for academic affairs; Dr. Garrie Moore, vice chancellor for student life; Dr. Robert Morrison, chair of the faculty; Dr. Ron Newton, chair of the Department of Biology; Dr. Rick Niswander, associate professor of business; Dr. Marilyn Sheerer, dean of the School of Education; Betty Speir, chair of the Academic Affairs, Research, Graduate Studies and Student Life Committee of the ECU Board of Trustees; and Dr. Ralph Whatley, chair of the Department of Medicine.

Members of the health sciences search committee are David Brody, an independent businessman who is a former chair of the board of directors of University Health Systems of Eastern Carolina and whose family has been the major benefactor of the medical school; Richard Brown, executive vice chancellor and vice chancellor for administration and finance; Dr. Martha Engelke, presser of nursing; Dr. Peter Kragel, interim dean of the medical school; Dr. Elizabeth Layman, chair of the Department of Health Information Management; Dave McRae, chief executive officer of University Health Systems; Dr. Julius Mallette, senior associate dean of the medical school; Dr. Walter Pories, professor of surgery; Dr. Dorothy Spencer, director of the Laupus Health Sciences Library; Jim Talton, chair of the Health Sciences Committee of the ECU Board of Trustees; Dr. Steve Thomas, interim dean of the School of Allied Health Sciences; and Dr. Stephen Willis, professor of family medicine.


Contact: ECU News Bureau | 252-328-6481