A newspaper for ECU faculty and staff
Pieces of Eight


Neuroscientists Gather at ECU

The Eastern Carolina Chapter of the Society for Neuroscience held the 8th Annual Neuroscience Symposium, Catalyst for Collaboration at East Carolina: Today and Tomorrow at the Murphy Center Nov. 15.

In attendance were 69 neuroscientists, representing various departments and schools across the university. John Lehman, associate dean for Research and Graduate Studies, greeted participants. The symposium included two oral sessions (10 speakers) and one poster session (16 posters), and a product show arranged by Biotech Vendor Services Inc. The keynote address, “Brain Mechanisms Underlying Drug Abuse,” was delivered by Jacqueline McGinty, professor and associate dean, Department of Neurosciences, the Medical University of South Carolina, Charleston.

Dr. Ed Lieberman and Dr. Larry Means were honored for dedication to the ECU Neuroscience Program. Awarded for best poster presentations were graduate students Sarath Vijayakumar (Physiology), first place; Sarah James (Anatomy and Cell Biology), second place; and Tara Cartwright (Biochemistry and Molecular Biology), third place.

This page originally appeared in the Dec. 8, 2006 issue of Pieces of Eight. Complete issue is archived at