A newspaper for ECU faculty and staff
Pieces of Eight


'Servire Society' Seeks Applicants

By Erica Plouffe Lazure

The motto and mission of East Carolina University now has its own honor society.

The inaugural “Servire Society” is seeking applications from faculty, staff and students who have volunteered 100 or more hours of community service.

“The ECU community has been involved with ‘service’ since East Carolina was founded,” said ECU Chancellor Steve Ballard, who announced the society during this spring’s Centennial leadership forum on service.

“Therefore, beginning in this centennial year, it is especially important to recognize those who have demonstrated a commitment to volunteering their time and talents.”

Applications for membership are due Feb. 1, for service performed Jan.1, 2007 through Dec. 31, 2007 and the first recognition ceremony will be held in March.

Qualifying service for faculty members and staff should be external to ECU and outside their normal realm of work activity, according to the guidelines.

Examples of eligible outreach and community service activities include:

• Direct service to the community (for example, tutoring, mentoring, assisting non-profit organizations like the Humane Society, American Cancer Society, American Heart Association).

• Inspiring, encouraging, and involving others in service through mentorship and through the creation of opportunities for service (for example, setting up an emergency relief center, providing leadership in public programming).

• Responding to a concern, issue, emergency, or need of the community external to the university (such as disaster relief or critical health issues).

All members will receive a certificate and a pin as a symbol of being selected for membership. Inclusion in the Servire Society will continue for a year; continued membership will rely upon another 100 hours of service in subsequent years.

The Servire Society committee members include: Cal Christian (Accounting), Leigh Cobb (Health Sciences), Jason Denius (Volunteer and Service-Learning Center), Rita Gonsalves (Academic Affairs), Linner Griffin (Academic Affairs), Carla Jones (Office of the Chancellor), Al Smith (First Year Center), and Carolyn Thompson (Centennial Office). More details on qualifying service and nomination forms are available at


This page originally appeared in the June 8, 2007 issue of Pieces of Eight. Complete issue is archived at