A newspaper for ECU faculty and staff
Pieces of Eight


2008 Research, Creative Award Recipients Named

By Erica Plouffe Lazure

East Carolina University named two recipients of the 2008 Research and Creative Activity Awards.

Margaret Bauer, the Rives Chair of Southern Literature in ECU’s English Department, and Ron Cortright, professor of exercise science and physiology, received the five-year awards from the Division of Research and Graduate Studies. Along with their 2007 counterparts, they delivered lectures about their research as part of ECU’s Research and Creative Activity week, March 31 through April 4.


Deirdre Mageean, Vice Chancellor of Research and Graduate Studies, said she was proud of the accomplishments of these researchers.

“These faculty represent the spirit and creativity of East Carolina University,” Mageean said. “Congratulations to these faculty for their exceptional research accomplishments.”

Bauer, who came to ECU in 1996 and was named the Ralph Hardee Rives Chair of Southern Literature, is the editor of “North Carolina Literary Review,” and the author of three books of scholarship on Southern literature, including Ellen Gilchrist, William Faulkner and a forthcoming publication on the playwright Paul Green. She has also written dozens of articles and book reviews and presented many conference papers. Since 2002, she has orchestrated five annual Literary Homecoming events, bringing together writers with ties to North Carolina. She has received the Harriot College of Arts and Sciences Teacher-Scholar award as well as two departmental awards.

Cortright came to ECU in 1995 to complete a post-doctorate in biochemistry and joined the faculty in 1998. He has received more than $1.3 million in grants from the National Institutes of Health to study the causes of obesity, type II diabetes, and metabolism misfunction. Most recently his work has focused on understanding health disparities between African American women and their Caucasian counterparts. Cortright found that African American women tend to have higher incidence of diabetes and insulin resistance than Caucasian women. He has received the College of Health and Human Performance’s Teacher-Scholar award as well as a departmental teaching award.


The 2007 Research and Creative Activity Award recipients delivered their lectures as well. Five-year recipients are Michael Van Scott, professor of physiology and Erik Everhart, professor psychology. Lifetime Achievement Award winner for 2007 was Jeffery Johnson, professor of sociology.


This page originally appeared in the April 4, 2008 issue of Pieces of Eight. Complete issue is archived at