A newspaper for ECU faculty and staff
Pieces of Eight


Tardy Award Honors Smith

East Carolina Alumni Association Director of Membership and Marketing Doug Smith ’00, ’07 was selected as recipient of the 2009 Council of Alumni Association Executives Tardy New Professional Award.

Named in honor of Indiana University Alumni Association’s former president and CEO, the late Jerry F. Tardy, the award provides alumni association professionals an opportunity to visit other CAAE member alumni associations and the CAAE summer institute. Recipients have one to five years experience in the field.


The award is one of the highest honors presented to university advancement professionals. Other institutions whose members have received this honor include the universities of Arkansas, Nevada – Las Vegas, Illinois, South Carolina, Houston, Connecticut, Missouri and North Carolina – Chapel Hill.

Paul J. Clifford, East Carolina Alumni Association president and CEO, said, “Doug Smith is a national leader in our profession and this is recognition of all his efforts. The honor is well-deserved for Doug and the Alumni Association.”

Smith said he received the award not just as a personal honor, but also as one “on behalf of our entire staff who work together to accomplish great things for our 123,000 alumni.” Smith will receive $2,500 to cover travel expenses to other institutions where he will learn from fellow alumni professionals.

For details, contact Jennifer Watson, at 328-4902,

This page originally appeared in the Jan. 30, 2009 issue of Pieces of Eight. Complete issue is archived at