ECU News Services


Health Sciences faculty, staff recognized for published works

Eighty-five ECU faculty and staff were honored Nov. 16 for their published works at Laupus Library’s fifth annual Health Sciences Author Recognition Awards.
The awards were expanded this year to include faculty and staff from the Division of Health Sciences. Previously only faculty members were eligible.
Faculty and staff submitted 220 entries — 213 peer-reviewed journal articles and book chapters and seven books — published between Jan. 1, 2009, and June 30. A bibliography is available at
“The awards ceremony is designed to pay tribute to our colleagues who expand the scholarly culture of our university and the research reputation of the Division of Health Sciences through their published works,” said Dr. Dorothy Spencer, associate vice chancellor for communication and information resources and director of Laupus Library, which hosted the awards ceremony and dinner reception for honorees at the Greenville Hilton. The event was sponsored by Matthews Medical Books and Friends of Laupus Library.
Dr. Phyllis Horns, vice chancellor for health sciences, presented the book authors with a Laupus bronze, a special award named for the first dean of ECU’s medical school, William E. Laupus. They were Martha Alligood from the College of Nursing; Eric Bailey, Charles Boklage and Annette Greer from the Brody School of Medicine; Jeffrey Coghill from Laupus Library; and Susie Harris and Patricia Royal from the College of Allied Health Sciences.
Dr. Paul Cunningham, dean for the Brody School of Medicine, recognized 47 Brody School of Medicine faculty: Eric Bailey, M.J. Barchman, Jeffrey Bethel, Richard Bloch, Charles Boklage, David Brown, Wayne Cascio, Yan-Hua Chen, Skip Cummings, Jonathan Firnhaber, Paul Fletcher, Annette Greer, Ruth Ann Henricksen, Stephanie Jilcott, Brett Keiper, Cheryl Knudson, Kathryn Kolasa, Alan Kypson, Tung-Kwang Lee, Isabelle Lemasson, Qun Lu, Achut Malur, Mark Mannie, Chris Mansfield, James McCubrey, Brian McMillen, William Meggs, Justin Moore, M.A. Motaleb, Assad Movahed, David Musick, Dale Newton, Lloyd Novick, Ann Marie Nye, Ronald Perkin, Everett Pesci, Walter Pories, R. Martin Roop, Rachel Roper, Matthew Rosenbaum, Sy Saeed, Sunil Sharma, George Sigounas, Ann Sperry, Michael Stoner, Kathryn Verbanac and Li Yang.  
“Our faculty hold true to what we call scholarship,” said Dr. Stephen Thomas, dean of the College of Allied Health Sciences. “There is nothing more exhilarating than the discovery of new knowledge. Our basic science, clinical and translational research make what we do important in pushing health care forward.” Thomas recognized Jason Brinkley, Robert Campbell, Martha Chapin, Anne Dickerson, Denise Donica, Gregg Givens, Amy Gross McMillan, Susie Harris, Monica Hough, Walter Jenkins, Michael Kennedy, Elizabeth Layman, Jane Painter, Patricia Royal, Shari Sias, Leonard Trujillo, Beth Velde and Paul Vos.

“We’re very excited about the work you’re doing in this era of evidence-based practice,” said Dr. Sylvia Brown, dean of the College of Nursing. Brown, who also published, recognized Martha Alligood, Tamara Congdon, Robin Webb Corbett, Martha Engelke, Laura Gantt, Darlene Elizabeth Jesse, Barbara Kellam, Janice Neil, Annette Peery, Marie Pokorny, Melissa Schwartz, Michelle Taylor Skipper, Melinda Walker and Carol Winters-Moorhead.
Spencer recognized four authors from Laupus Library: Kathy Cable, Jeffrey Coghill, Gina Firnhaber and Katherine Rickett.
Dr. James Hupp, dean of the School of Dental Medicine, was honored for his published works.
Spencer thanked Dr. Richard Eakin, chancellor emeritus at ECU and founding chair of the Friends of Laupus Library, for his service with a specially-mounted Laupus bronze. Evelyn Laupus, Rep. Marian McLawhorn and Dr. Walter Pories were the founding honorary chair and co-chairs respectively. In 2011, Dr. Greg Hassler will serve as chair of the Friends group, which provides support for special programs and activities of the library.

This story appeared originally in the Dec. 10, 2010 issue of Pieces of Eight. An archived version of that issue is available at