A newspaper for ECU faculty and staff
Pieces of Eight


Council Completes Review

The ECU Coastal-Maritime Council (CMC) has completed a review of coastal-maritime academic and research research activities on campus. Under the auspices of the ECU academic council of vice chancellors, the CMC conducted the review through an expert panel of scientists. In review sessions held on campus May 4 – 5, campus scientists presented their data and perspectives to the panel. The panel presented a preliminary oral report to the academic council of vice chancellors. A formal written report will be presented in July.

Comprised of 15 members from across ECU’s academic and research units, the CMC works to organize, plan and coordinate research programs that bring social, economic and natural scientists together. These scientists address complex scientific questions concerning citizen, cultural, development, and public use impacts on the ecosystems of the state’s coastal environment. Scientists also collaborate in the writing of large multi-disciplinary and multi-institutional grant proposals, and in the conduct of externally funded research in an integrated and interdisciplinary manner.

The external review is part of ongoing activities sponsored by the CMC to promote interdisciplinary research and to encourage collaboration. Other activities include workshops, seminars, retreats, and communication with affiliated faculty on funding activities. These activities draw graduate students from the Coastal Management Resources doctoral program and from the master’s programs of the participating academic departments.

More than 40 ECU research faculty from 10 academic units are affiliated with the coastal-maritime program. 

Members of the CMC are Lisa Clough (Biology), Reide Corbett (Geology), Steve Culver (Geology), Rick Ericson (Economics), Joe Fridgen (Recreation and Leisure Studies), Jim Gibson (Pharmacology and Toxicology), Jeffrey Johnson (Sociology), Lorry King (Coastal Resources Management), Jamie Kruse (Economics), Ron Mitchelson (Geography), Chairman Ron Newton (Biology), Bill Queen (Institute of Coastal Marine Resources), Stan Riggs (Geology), Tim Runyan (Maritime Studies), and Hans Vogelsong (Recreation and Leisure Studies).   

The expert review was coordinated by Bill Queen, director of ECU’s Institute for Coastal and Marine Resources and a member of the CMC.  The panel included Dr. B. J. Copeland (chair), former director of the UNC Sea Grant Program; Dr. Paul Sandifer, senior scientist for the National Oceanographic and Atmospheric Administration’s National Centers for Coastal Ocean Science, S.C.; Dr. John Gatewood, professor of anthropology and sociology at Lehigh University; Dr. Al Hine, associate dean of the College of Marine Science, University of South Florida; and Dr. William Cogar, vice president of Mystic Seaport, Conn., and former professor at the US Naval Academy.         

This page originally appeared in the July 15, 2005 issue of Pieces of Eight. Complete issue is archived at http://www.ecu.edu/news/poe/archives.cfm.