A newspaper for ECU faculty and staff
Pieces of Eight


ECU Faculty Senate officers are, left to right, Marianna Walker, chair; Mark Sprague, vice chair; Brenda Killingsworth, parliamentarian; and Hunt McKinnon, secretary. (Photo by Cliff Hollis)


Faculty Senate Officers Named

Marianna Walker, associate professor of communication sciences and disorders in the College of Allied Health Sciences, was elected chair of the ECU faculty on April 28.

This is the first time a faculty member from the College of Allied Health Sciences has held the position.

Others elected to represent ECU faculty are Vice Chair Mark Sprague, associate professor of physics, and Secretary Hunt McKinnon, teaching assistant professor of interior design and merchandising. Brenda Killingsworth, associate professor in the Department of Management Information Systems,was appointed parliamentarian.

Walker has served as secretary and vice-chair of the faculty for two years. In her role as chair, Walker plans to enhance the Faculty Senate’s role in communicating faculty requests and questions to the administration, representing the entire faculty, including tenured, tenure-track and fixed-term, and engaging in constructive dialogue with the Executive Council and the Chancellor, especially regarding budgeting decisions.

Sprague has served in the senate for seven years. As vice chair, he intends to initiate online forums to facilitate communication with faculty. He plans to produce a blog and interactive online forum, “Faculty Matters,” focused on faculty-related issues. The blog will appear at http://blogs.aos.ecu.edu/facultysenate/.Sprague also intends to enhance communication through social networking tools such as Twitter and Facebook.

As the only fixed-term faculty officer, McKinnon plans to employ his unique perspective to encourage diversity in a true community of scholars, which welcomes individuals with different academic interests and levels of scholarship.

Killingsworth brings to her new role experience as a Faculty Senator, Faculty Chair for two terms, Academic Committee Chair, and three terms as Faculty Assembly Chair.

The Faculty Senate  is the primary vehicle for the essential shared governance between faculty and administration at ECU.


This page originally appeared in the July 31, 2009 issue of Pieces of Eight. Complete issue is archived at http://www.ecu.edu/news/poe/Arch.cfm.