ECU News Services


Service to others honored with Hall of Fame induction

By Crystal Baity

Significant contributors to nursing education, administration, research and practice were honored Feb. 25 as 40 nurses were inducted to the inaugural Hall of Fame in the East Carolina University College of Nursing.  

More than $40,000 raised through the creation of the Hall of Fame will support a new fund to provide merit-based scholarships for nursing students.

“Our legacy of excellence will continue with the scholarships,” said Dr. Sylvia Brown, dean of the College of Nursing.

The launching of the Hall of Fame program coincides with the 50th anniversary of nursing education at ECU.

Each inductee received a flame-shaped award, which Brown said reminded her of the nursing pin designed by the first nursing class 50 years ago.

“Each of our inductees is a bright light,” said Brown, who was inducted by Dr. Phyllis Horns, vice chancellor of health sciences. Brown, in turn, inducted Horns. Horns served as dean of nursing for 19 years.

Horns described the college as a jewel in the health sciences division and commended Brown’s leadership and the creation of the Hall of Fame. “I am reminded daily of the accomplishments of everyone in this room and those who couldn’t be here tonight,” she said. “I take great pride in this college.”

Inductees were: Gale Adcock, Dr. Alta W. Andrews, Helen Merrill Brinson, Dr. Sylvia T. Brown, Marshall Dewayne Byrd, Mary Sue Cummings Collier, Cindy Matthews Duber, Dr. Frances R. Eason, Dr. Martha Keehner Engelke, Dr. Lou W. Everett, Selba Morris Harris, Dr. Linda Dunnam Hofler, Dr. Phyllis N. Horns, Jacqueline Hutcherson, Dr. Mary K. Kirkpatrick, Dr. Dixie Koldjeski, Cynthia Sturdivant Kotrady, Karen C. Krupa, Dr. Judith Kuykendall, Dr. Therese G. Lawler, Belinda Temple Lee, Dr. Deitra Lowdermilk, Bobby Lowery, Kimberly Glover McDaniel, Richard E. McDaniel, Dr. Dianne M. Marshburn, Hazel Browning Moore, Brenda Darden Myrick, Evelyn Perry, Eldean Pierce, Diane A. Poole, Dr. Donna Roberson, Dr. Mary Ann Rose, Louise Haigwood Sammons, Dr. Elaine S. Scott, Sylvene Spickerman, Dr. Debra C. Wallace, Dr. Sandra M. Walsh, Patricia Perry Womble, and Dr. Annette B. Wysocki.

“As you can see, we have a wonderful first class in our nursing hall of fame,” said Brown, who  thanked the college’s development advisory council and the 50th anniversary committee members.
Dr. Frances Eason, chair of the 50th anniversary committee and inductee, has been at the college since the 1960s, first as a student and then as a teacher.

“I have seen over the years our College of Nursing grow and grow and grow, and it’s because of these people and many others that have helped us get there,” Eason said.

Dr. Donna Roberson, assistant professor, said the evening was a highlight of the 50th anniversary celebration and “to see all these wonderful contributors, not only to the College of Nursing, but to the profession of nursing” was outstanding.