Dr. Paul Gares

Gares Receives Prestigious Geography Award

The Coastal and Marine Specialty Group of the Association of American Geographers recently awarded Dr. Paul Gares, ECU professor of geography, the group's prestigious R.J. Russell Award.

"The Russell award is the highest honor given by the CoMa Specialty Group," said Dr. Burrel Montz, chair of the Department of Geography. "Dr. Gares joins a list of the most renowned coastal geographers in the discipline recognized for their major contributions in research and teaching. He has particularly influenced many students and advanced the study of aeolian and coastal geomorphology research on dunes."

The R.J. Russell Award is presented to an individual in recognition of major contributions to the field of coastal or marine geography. These contributions may be in research, teaching, public service or to a the CoMa Specialty Group. The award consists of a plaque and complimentary registration to attend the group's annual meeting.  

Russell was one of two scientists to serve as president for the Association of American Geographers, and as president of the Geological Society of America. He also served as a member of the National Academy of Sciences. Russell founded the Coastal Studies Institute at Louisiana State University, which served as the premier coastal science research institute in the US during the 1950s and 60s.