2010 News Archive

climate change flyer image                                                                    Raymond O'Connor Seminar Series - Dr. Joshua Lawler, assistant professor at the University of Washington, will present a free, public presentation "Projected Climate Impacts on the Fauna of the Western Hemisphere," at 4:30 p.m. on Nov. 11, in Bate 1031 at East Carolina University.

Terasima Award         Dr. Alex Georgakilas to be awarded the prestigious Terashima award, from the Japan Radiation Research Society.

Dr. Alex Georgakilas, associate professor in the Department of Biology, will receive the prestigious Terashima award from the Japan Radiation Research Society at the 53rd annual conference in Kyoto.

He and his collaborator, Dr. Meg Hada published the paper, "Hada, M. and Georgakilas, A.G. Formation of Clustered DNA Damage after High-LET Irradiation: A Review. J. Radiat. Research 49 (3) 203-210 (2008)."

The synergistic activities of Dr. Georgakilas with Dr. Hada help promote Radiation Research in Japan and Internationally, as well as the promoting the official publication of the society the Japan Journal of Radiation Research.

For more information on the Japan Radiation Research Society and the Terashima Award visit their website at http://wwwsoc.nii.ac.jp/jrr/index-e.html

brinson christian

ECU Biology Department Hosts Symposium in Honor of Retiring Distinguished Professors

kimmel      ECU professors, including Dr. Dave Kimmel, research effects of BP oil spill in Gulf of Mexico and beyond.

Read Ben McGlaughon's Research Blog updated daily from the site of the Deepwater Horizon oil spill.

 piratescamp  PIRATES camp students have the opportunity to experience real world science applications.

arachnological                                        The 2010 American Arachnological Society annual meeting will be co-hosted by Harriot College's Department of Biology and the North Carolina Center for Biodiversity Friday, June 11, through Tuesday, June 15.

Christian               Bob Christian received a Summer Visiting Scientist Award at the Baruch Marine Field Laboratory (BMFL), University of South Carolina.

Bob Christian received a Summer Visiting Scientist Award at the Baruch Marine Field Laboratory (BMFL), University of South Carolina. He will visit the laboratory 3 times this year, including a two week stay in July. During this time, he will interact with scientists and students at the BMFL, give a seminar and conduct a collaborative study on geomorphology of tidal creeks and ecosystem function.

The relationship between geomorphology and ecosystem function is an issue of significance for both scientific understanding and environmental management. Understanding the relationship has driven considerable research on coastal ecosystems.

The research project to be begun this summer addresses the issue by extending recent findings by Dennis Allen and colleagues on the nekton of tidal creeks within the North-Inlet Estuary. Allen and Christian will apply a modeling approach called ecological network analysis based on these data. The project will unite the considerable expertise of these systems available at BMFL with Christian's of ecological network analysis. Specifically, the scientists will address the following question: How does the geomorphology of creeks affect trophic structure and dynamics? The initial products of this research will be a series of network models of tidal creek food webs. These will be used to provide a unique assessment of the relationship between creek structure and an important aspect of ecosystem function.

sn frog          Dr. Kyle Summers research involving monogamy in amphibians featured in Science magazine. Photo Credit: Jason Brown

earth day speaker                                                              Will Stolzenburg, formerly of the Nature Conservancy and author of "Where the Wild Things Were: Life, Death, and Ecological Wreckage in a Land of Vanishing Predator is scheduled to speak on Earth Day, April 22, in the Science and Technology building C207 at 7 PM.

 aaasciencephoto                    Biology Faculty and Advancement Council Members Help Local Students Present at American Association for the Advancement of Science Meetings

milipedes                                                    An intriguing and compelling example of evolution by natural selection has been demonstrated in a study involving Southern Appalachian Mountain millipedes, conducted by East Carolina University biologists Drs. Paul Marek and Jason Bond.

Connect with Us

Facebook  Twitter  linkedin