Welcome to Biology at ECU!

We are a broad department that emphasizes integrative approaches drawing from across the life sciences. We offer undergraduate majors in Biology and Biochemistry and graduate opportunities at both the MS and PhD levels. Our faculty, students, and staff have received a wide range of honors and awards and some of their achievements are highlighted on this site. We encourage alumni to keep in touch and prospective students to visit. I look forward to hearing from you!

Jeff McKinnon, Chair

Biology News

Ardon Early Career Award

Dr. Marcelo Ardon is a Recipient of the Inagural Early Career Award

Dr. Marcelo Ardon-Sayao was one of two assistant professors at East Carolina University to receive the inagural Thomas Harriot College of Arts and Sciences Dean’s Early Career Award, announced Friday, May 15, at a special reception.

Read more here


Faten Taki Receives 2105 Sigma Xi Helms Award

Faten Taki, an IDPBS Ph.D. candidate, is the recipient of the 2015 ECU Sigma Xi Chapter Student Helms Award. She was honored for her work showing the sensitivity of the post-embryonic stage to drugs of abuse like nicotine and its impact on subsequent generations.

Read more here


Multiple Biology Faculty Members Honored at ECU Awards Day

Several Biology faculty members were honored with awards at ECU awards day. 

Read more here


Dr. John Stiller Elected as Chair of the Faculty

Dr. John Stiller has been elected as the Chair of the Faculty for East Carolina University.

Read more here


Biology Student serves as Panelist to the Women's Roundtable of ECU

Mona Amin, a BioLL member, an Honors student and a Biology major was selected as a rising leader to serve as a panelist at the Women's Roundtable at ECU, Mona was one of five student panelists who talked about their leadership experiences, dreams and challenges.

Read more here

Connect with Us

purple-facebook purple-twitter

CalendarMore Events

  • There are no upcoming events