ECU Logo
Thomas Harriot College of Arts and Sciences
Department of Geography


Geography Bowl

Geography Bowl is an academic competition much like College Bowl, but all of the questions come from the field of Geography. Tournaments are held anually at the State, Regional, and National Levels. Regional tournaments are held at the annual meeting of each participating division of the AAG and the national chapionships is held at the AAG meeting.

North Carolina Tournament State Champions

1989 Duke University
1990 Appalachian State University
1991 Duke University
1992 Duke University
1993 North Carolina State University
1994 Appalachian State University
1995 Appalachian State University
1996 East Carolina University
1997: Appalachian State University
1998: UNC-Charlotte
1999: UNC-Chapel Hill
2000: Duke
2001: Appalachian State University
2002: UNC-Greensboro
2003: East Carolina University
2004: East Carolina University

2003 East Carolina University Championship Team


Chris McPhilamy, Preston Mitchell, Nathan Wood, Robert Best (captain), Erica Kotecki, Pam Slagle, Matt Mitchelson

Coach: Scott Wade