ECU Logo
Thomas Harriot College of Arts and Sciences
Department of Geography


Current Events and News

ECU Geography students and faculty win awards at SEDAAG annual meeting

Geography / AAS students encounter Hurricane Irene

Prof. Ferreira and Prof. Rickenbach awarded 3-year NSF grant
to develop a climatology of precipitation system organization for North Carolina

Prof. Alderman receives 2011 AAG Meredith Burrill Award

Dr. Gares awarded the AAG Coastal and Marine Group's R. J. Russell Award

Undergraduate Scholarship and Internship Opportunities

ECU students receive awards in Global Climate Change competition.

Dr. Tom Crawford has been selected to receive an ECU 2010-2011 Scholar-Teacher Award.

Dr. Derek Alderman and Ms. Heather Ward (Coastal Resource Management PhD candidate) received the 2010 Urban Communication Foundation Journal Article Award for their paper "Writing on the Plywood: Toward an Analysis of Hurricane Graffiti"

ECU Geography undergraduate Cal Scheinert is awarded the Merle C. Prunty Scholarship at the annual meeting of
the Southeast Division of the Association of American Geographers, November 2010.

Dr. Scott Curtis receives an Outstanding Research Award from the Southeast Division of the Association of American Geographers, November 2010.

ECU Geography presents...
"The Future of Our Fluid Planet: Water, Climate, & Perpetual Change"
A free video presentation and panel discussion
16 Nov. 2010, Brewster B-102, 7-8:30PM.

Two new Bachelor of Science degrees! Applied Atmospheric Science and Geographic Information Science and Technology.

Prof. Derek Alderman appointed Research Fellow at ECU's Center for Sustainable Tourism


Congratulations to our 2010 Geography graduates!

Prof. Scott Curtis receives ECU Five-Year Achievement for Excellence in Research and Creative Activity Award.

Read Prof. Rickenbach's editorial article on climate change prediction in the Raleigh News & Observer

Spring 2010: Global Climate course partners with U.S. State Department and three International universities

Geography Department Receives $3.2 Million Software Donation!

Prof. Alderman receives ECU's highest teaching award

Congratulations are in order!

Honors from the 2007 SEDAAG Meeting:

Derek Alderman is the new President of SEDAAG

Terri Moreau won the award for the best MA student honors paper

Honors from the 2006 SEDAAG Meeting:

     Ron Mitchelson received the SEDAAG Outstanding Service Award.

     Derek Alderman received the SEDAAG Outstanding Research Award.

     Sallie Vaughn won the prize for the best MA student honors paper.

     Caleb Parker was co-winner of the best MA student honors poster.

                                    Congratulations to all!

Scott Lecce received a National Geographic Society grant to investigate the legacy of mercury contamination from gold mining in North Carolina

Derek Alderman received a Five-Year Research/Creative Activity Acheivement Award from East Carolina University.

Jeff Popke received a Distinguished Teaching Achievement Award from the National Council for Geographic Education.

Rebecca Torres received a prestigious NSF Early CAREER Award for $478,000 to study Rural Transformation and Latino Transnational Migration and Settlement in the U.S. South.

Sol Wuensch is the recipient of the Outstanding Senior Award for Geography for 2005-06.
Velvet Nelson (M.A. 2003) has successfully defended her dissertation at Kent State University and has accepted a job as an Assistant Professor at Sam Houston State University.
Merle Prunty Award:  Sol Wuensch is the 2005 recipient of the Merle Prunty Award as the outstanding geography undergraduate within SEDAAG.