Graduate Students

Program Areas

Here at ECU we offer a two-year M.S. degree in Geography. There are two distinct options within the degree program.

  • The ‘Thesis Option’ is a 30-hour degree program culminating in the writing of a thesis. This is the standard option for students who want the opportunity to engage in independent scholarly research on a topic or issue of interest.
  • The second, ‘Non-Thesis Option’, can be viewed as an applied geography program, and is suited for students who are already engaged in professional practice, or who wish to apply geographic knowledge to the solution of a concrete ‘real-world’ problem in an internship setting. This option requires 6 additional hours of coursework and the preparation of a professional ‘report’, which may be written on behalf of a specific ‘client’ or constituency.

Areas of study for both options include: geographic information science and technology, environmental geography, urban and regional planning, atmospheric science, and social justice, global issues & sustainable development.

There are also three ‘concentrations’ within our MS, one in Geography, one in Rural Development, and another in Planning. These concentrations have been developed to provide students with the theoretical background and practical expertise necessary for a wide range of professional occupations. A student choosing the Rural Development concentration may choose either the Thesis or Non-Thesis Option. The Planning concentration is limited to the Non-Thesis Option only.

- See the graduate catalog course listings for Geography here.
- More information about certificate programs here
- The department Graduate Manual provides guidelines for our M.S. students as to degree requirements and milestones Graduate Manual