School of Music



Honor an Emeritus Faculty Member with your tax-deductible gift. Names, dates, and areas of service are listed below.

Dr. Charles Bath, piano

Earl Beach, 1958–1974, dean (deceased)

Dr. Ruth Boxberger, 1967–1987, music therapy (deceased)

George Broussard, trombone

Dr. Herbert Carter, 1956–1991, chair, instrumental department; clarinet/saxophone (deceased)

Beatrice Chauncey, 1959–1991, flute

Antonia Dalapas, 1971–1992, voice

Dr. Joseph Distefano, 1968–2001, chair, basic studies department; clarinet/saxophone

Dr. Henry Doskey, piano

Elizabeth Drake, 1946–1977, piano

Dr. Edmund Durham, 1950–1977, theory/clarinet (deceased)

Dr. Rhonda Fleming, 1978–1999, choral activities, music education

Robert Hause, 1967–2005, assistant/associate dean, ECU Symphony Conductor  (deceased)

Dr. Otto Henry, 1968–1997, music history, composition, electronic music

Dr. Linda High, music education

Dr. Clyde Hiss, 1965–1995, voice, opera

Dr. E. Robert Irwin, 1966-1989, organ (deceased)

Harold Jones, 1962–1996, chair, instrumental department; percussion

Dr. George Knight, 1962–1998, chair, music education; assistant dean, clarinet, marching band

Virginia Linn, 1965–1995, voice (deceased)

Dr. Richard Lucht, 1967–2002, group piano

Dr. Catherine Murphy, voice and choral education

Dr. Charles Moore, 1968–1992, chair, voice department

James Parnell, 1966–1987, horn (deceased)

Dr. Everett Pittman, 1968–1992, dean, theory (deceased)

Dr. Rodney Schmidt, 1967–2006, interim director, associate director, assistant dean, violin/viola

Dr. Charles F. Schwartz, 1981–2000, dean, music education

James Searl, 1965–1998, theory, trumpet

Barry Shank, 1961–1995, theory, trumpet (deceased)

Ruth Shaw, 1966–1992, music education (deceased)

Dr. Ralph Shumaker, 1975–1998, music education, trombone, president of NCMEA

Dr. Charles Stevens, 1960–1990, dean, piano

Dr. paul Tardiff, piano

Eleanor Toll, 1942–1978, piano

Dr. Paul Topper, 1963–2001, violin/viola (deceased)

Gladys White, 1948–1991, voice (deceased)