School of Music

Faculty & Staff Directory

Douglas Monroe

Douglas Moore-Monroe

Douglas Monroe is associate professor of clarinet at East Carolina University, where he performs with the Coastal Winds woodwind quintet. Since 2011, Monroe has been on the faculty of Interlochen Arts Camp and since 2015, he has been the camp’s Woodwind Faculty Coordinator. Previously, he taught at North Dakota State University where he was a founding member of Trio Élan, the Red River Winds, and was principal clarinet with the Fargo-Moorhead Symphony Orchestra.

Monroe has performed with the Mariinsky Theater Orchestra, the Aspen Festival Orchestra, the Arizona Opera, the Interlochen Faculty Orchestra, Richmond Currents, and plays regularly with the North Carolina Symphony Orchestra. In October 2011, Monroe gave the North American premier of Benjamin Britten’s Movements for a Clarinet Concerto and in November 2015, he performed Michael Gandolfi’s Winding Up, Winding Down at the New England Conservatory with the school’s “Jordan Winds.”

Before entering academia, Monroe spent a career performing in United States military bands. He began as clarinetist with the United States Army Field Band, Washington, D.C. During these three-years, he performed twenty-four times as a concerto soloist and was a founding member of the United States Army Field Band Clarinet Quartet. Following this assignment, Monroe was accepted into the United States Air Force’s commander/conductor program. During this time, he was commander/conductor of both the USAF Band of the Golden West at Travis AFB, CA and the USAF Heritage of America Band at Langley AFB, VA. One of the highest honors of his military career was leading the musical performance for the interment ceremony of President Ronald Reagan in 2004.

Douglas received his education at the Interlochen Arts Academy, the Manhattan School of Music, Michigan State University, the University of Arizona, and The Ohio State University. His teachers have included Frank Kowalsky, Leon Russianoff, Elsa Ludewig-Verdehr, Charles West, Joaquin Valdepeñas, and James Pyne.