School of Music
Watch Concerts Live

There is a special place for you at ECU School of Music

Benefit from more than a century of music teaching history at ECU by studying with renowned faculty who are committed to your academic, artistic and career success.

Participate in award-winning ensembles including three large bands, symphony orchestra, three choirs, two jazz bands and multiple jazz combos, four specialty ensembles and two sports bands. Experience unique performance and mentoring opportunities with professional musicians during five on-campus music festivals.
Click here for your application request.


Ponder on the mall, composition by ECU professor Travis Alfird.
For more School of Music videos click here.

December 1, 2018
January 19, 2019
February 9, 2019
February 23, 2019*
March 16, 2019

*last day for scholarship consideration

None at this time.

To apply for these positions:
Click here
then click "search postings" and enter position number.




Hairston receives Lifetime Achievement Award

The American Music Therapy Association recognized Michelle Hairston with one of two annual Lifetime Achievement Awards.

Hairston has served as president of the American Music Therapy Association as well as in a variety of leadership positions at the state and regional levels. She is chair of the Department of Music Education and Music Therapy at the ECU School of Music.

AMTA recognized the positive impact she makes on students and cited her “exemplary service and dedication to the profession of music therapy.”

Hazzard wins composition competition

Matthew Hazzard (BM Composition '12) won the 2018 True Concord Voices & Orchestra Stephen Paulus Emerging Composer Competition for American composers between the ages of 18 and 40.

Hazzard was the winner of the inaugural year of competition. His winning piece was among 40 submissions from around the country and was premiered in Tucson this spring.


ECU alum Prescott wins organ competition

Jordan Prescott (BM Music Performance, Sacred Music-Organ ‘17) won the Sixteenth Annual International Organ Competition at West Chester University in Pennsylvania on May 19. His competition program included J.S. Bach's Prelude and Fugue in a minor, BWV 543, the Fugue in A-flat minor of Johannes Brahms, and Visions prophétiques from Jean Langalis' "Cinq Méditations sur l'Apocalypse."

Gardner joins voice faculty

Dr. Catherine Gardner will join the ECU School of Music in August 2018 as assistant professor in the Vocal Studies Department.

Soprano Gardner has been praised for her embodied singing and dramatic range in both art song and opera. Gardner is in demand as a voice teacher, adjudicator, masterclass technician and examiner (Conservatory Canada). She recently received her Doctor of Musical Arts from the University of Toronto.
(more information)

School of Music faculty receive teaching awards

Congratulations to School of Music faculty 2018 teaching award recipients:

Dr. Jami Rhodes, Board of Governors Award for Excellence in Teaching
Dr. Jocelyn Nelson, College of Fine Arts and Communication Scholar Teacher
Dr. William  Staub, one of three ECU Alumni Association Awards For Outstanding Teaching



ECU professor Jacobs receives Guggenheim

School of Music composition and theory professor Dr. Edward Jacobs has received a prestigious Guggenheim Foundation Fellowship. The foundation recognized Jacobs on April 4 for his work as a composer.

Granted by the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation, Guggenheim Fellowships are intended for individuals who have demonstrated exceptional capacity for productive scholarship or exceptional creative ability in the arts.

Jacobs is the first ECU faculty member to receive a Guggenheim.

Read the full story (click here).

ECU voice students achieve at competitions

Two ECU voice majors were awarded prizes at this year’s Orpheus National Competition for Vocalists, held March 2, 3 and 4 on the campus of Middle Tennessee State University. Senior Joseph Morris (baritone), and Sophomore Arianna Ford (soprano) tied for third place in the final round of the competition. Morris was awarded the Orpheus Da Capo award, while Ford took home the Richard Strauss award. Both awards came with cash prizes.

Arianna Ford is a student of Nicole Fraley-Franklin. Joseph Morris is a student of John Kramar.

School of Music voice students also won numerous awards at the NC National Association of Teachers of Singing competition in Winston-Salem in February.

First place winners included:
1st Place Graduate Women - Kerby Baier; 1st Place Senior Women - Gina Falk; 1st Place Junior Women - Alex Fee, 1st Place Junior Men - William Edwards; 1st Place Sophomore Women – Arianna Ford; 1st Place Freshman Men – Jacob McCain (click here for a complete list of winners)

Jacob McCain was also selected as overall outstanding male singer.

They are students of Jami Rhodes, Nicole Franklin, Daniel Shirley and John Kramar.

Individuals requesting accommodation under the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) should call 252-737-1016 (voice/TTY) at least 48 hours prior to the event.