School of Music
18th NewMusic Initiative

To engage our community in all phases of new music's culture:

Visiting artists (listed below, here) are deeply involved with the creation and dissemination of new musical ideas. Guests will work with our community in:

  • Instrumental/vocal Master Classes
  • Workshops for composers
  • Seminars on commissioning new work
  • Reading, recording and critique of student composers' music

Each year we will (see video introduction to the unique program):

  • Commission a new work--Recently completed projects by James MobberleyTravis Alford and Aaron Brooks!
    New projects emerging from Matthew Ricketts and Melinda Wagner
  • Host a NewMusic Initiative-commissioned composer who is writing for our forces
  • Rehearse and Premiere a NewMusic Initiative-commissioned piece
  • Encourage conversation about choices made by audiences, performers, and composers
  • Rehearse and create an archival recording of a NewMusic Initiative-commissioned piece

Contact us to be a part of

  • Come meet our guest artists (workshops, Master Classes)
  • Listen and share programs (critical discussions)
  • Post-concert receptions

Quick Links

2017 - 2018
Schedule of Events


October 13, 2017 @ 7:30pm
AYANO KATAOKA, marimba/percussion
November 9, 2017 @ 7:30pm
November 20, 2017 @ 7:30pm
NewMusic by ECU student composers
January 26, 2018 @ 7:30pm
February 27, 2018 @ 7:30pm
FREQUENCIESs a NewMusic Ensemble
March 15, 2018 @ 7:30pm
March 17, 2018 @ 7:30pm, Wright Auditorium
Jorge Richter, Director
13th Annual Composition Competition Winner 
March 22, 2018 @ 7:30pm
DUO CORTONA, soprano & violin
March 28, 2018 @ 7:30pm
NewMusic by ECU student composers
April 14, 2018 @ 7:30pm, Wright Auditorium
Jorge Richter, Director; Keiko Sekino, piano
World Premiere, NCNMI Commission 
by Matthew Ricketts
April 15, 2018, 3pm, Paramount Theatre
Goldsboro, NC
April 16, 2018 @ 7:30pm
NewMusic by ECU student composers

Guidelines for the 2017-2018 Orchestral Composition Competition

Open to all composers, regardless of age, nationality or institutional affiliation. [Past winners listed below.]

Prize: The winning work will be performed by
the East Carolina University Symphony
March 17, 2018 in Wright Auditorium, Greenville, NC.

For consideration, the following materials must be received by December 1, 2017:

  1. Scores (a maximum of two works; two copies of each submission) professional quality score(s), meeting guidelines noted below:
    • Name of composer (anonymous entry NOT necessary)
    • Maximum instrumentation: 2 flutes (+piccolo), 2 oboe (1 English Horn double), 2 clarinet (+bass), 2 bassoon, 4 horn, 3 trumpet, 3 trombone (including bass), 1 tuba, Timpani, 2 percussion, piano, Strings
    • Works with electronics/computer WILL be considered
    • Work with Harp will NOT be considered
    • Works including soloists will NOT be considered
    • Maximum duration of twelve (12) minutes
    • Difficulty level suitable for advanced university orchestra
  1. Information Sheet with:
    • Composer's name, address, telephone number, e-mail address
    • One paragraph bio, one paragraph program note
    • Title of submitted composition(s), list of instrumentation, duration of composition, date of completion, and performance history (if applicable)
  1. If available, a recording of the submitted work(s) may be included. Recordings are helpful, but are not necessary.
  2. For EACH ENTRY, an APPLICATION FEE of $10 US in the form of a check payable to East Carolina University, with NewMusic Initiative noted in the memo. [Cash (US $) is also acceptable.]  Payment may also be made online here.
  3. Self-addressed stamped envelope if you wish your materials to be returned.

Members of The East Carolina University Orchestra, Jorge Richter, Director, will perform the single winning work on the March 17, 2018, NC NewMusic Initiative concert on the East Carolina University campus in Greenville, NC.

Parts for the winning work must be received by January 10, 2018.

The composer of the winning work must be available to attend the festival. Every attempt will be made by the festival staff to provide accommodations for visitors, and to subsidize costs of travel. The composer of the winning work may also be asked to conduct a seminar, introducing their work to students and other festival attendants.

The composer of the selected score will be notified by December 25, 2017. Parts for the winning work must be received by January 10, 2018.

Address all submissions to:
Mark Taggart
Composition Competition Director
NC NewMusic Initiative
366 Fletcher Music Center
East Carolina University Greenville, NC 27858
2017: Charles Peck, Mosaic
2016: John Costa, Esperanca 
2015: Roydon Tse, Three Musings
2014: Michael-Thomas Fumai, Lady Dark
2013: Nicholas Omiccioli, flourishes
2012: Jessica Rudman, Seasonal Affective Disorder
2011: Paul Siskind, Gumption Trap
2010: Ingrid Stölzel, Genius Loci
2009: Chen Yao, Two Poems
2008: Christopher Dietz, Gharra
2007: Lembit Beecher, Don't Go There
2006: Anthony Iannaccone, Waiting for Sunrise on the Sound


Come hear how new ideas are initiated, and celebrate our
There are concerts, Master Classes with visiting performers and composers,
readings of student composers' works, receptions, discussions and more!
For additional information or to become a sponsor, contact:
  Edward Jacobs, Founder & Director of the NC NewMusic Initiative, at 252-328-4280