School of Music
18th NewMusic Initiative

To engage our community in all phases of new music's culture:

Visiting artists (listed below, here) are deeply involved with the creation and dissemination of new musical ideas. Guests will work with our community in:

  • Instrumental/vocal Master Classes
  • Workshops for composers
  • Seminars on commissioning new work
  • Reading, recording and critique of student composers' music

Each year we will (see video introduction to the unique program):

  • Commission a new work--Recently completed projects by James MobberleyTravis Alford and Aaron Brooks!
    New projects emerging from Matthew Ricketts and Melinda Wagner
  • Host a NewMusic Initiative-commissioned composer who is writing for our forces
  • Rehearse and Premiere a NewMusic Initiative-commissioned piece
  • Encourage conversation about choices made by audiences, performers, and composers
  • Rehearse and create an archival recording of a NewMusic Initiative-commissioned piece

Contact us to be a part of

  • Come meet our guest artists (workshops, Master Classes)
  • Listen and share programs (critical discussions)
  • Post-concert receptions
  • Become a sponsor!

Check out these video and print pieces about the NewMusic Initiative!

Insectaphobia comes alive on stage in ECU Opera Premiere

Quick Links

2017 - 2018
Schedule of Events


October 13, 2017 @ 7:30pm
AYANO KATAOKA, marimba/percussion
November 9, 2017 @ 7:30pm
November 20, 2017 @ 7:30pm
NewMusic by ECU student composers
January 26, 2018 @ 7:30pm
February 27, 2018 @ 7:30pm
FREQUENCIESs a NewMusic Ensemble
March 15, 2018 @ 7:30pm
March 17, 2018 @ 7:30pm, Wright Auditorium
Jorge Richter, Director
13th Annual Composition Competition Winner 
March 22, 2018 @ 7:30pm
DUO CORTONA, soprano & violin
March 28, 2018 @ 7:30pm
NewMusic by ECU student composers
April 14, 2018 @ 7:30pm, Wright Auditorium
Jorge Richter, Director; Keiko Sekino, piano
World Premiere, NCNMI Commission 
by Matthew Ricketts
April 15, 2018, 3pm, Paramount Theatre
Goldsboro, NC
April 16, 2018 @ 7:30pm
NewMusic by ECU student composers

2013 NewMusic@ECU Festival

Notice: this is archived material, and as such, links may no longer work since being moved to this permanent location.

2013 NewMusic@ECU Festival                                 (42 PIECES, 14 WORLD PREMIERES)
*Alford, Travis, Loose Strands, (2013)                                                                           world premiere
                                                NEWMUSIC@ECU COMMISSION
                        You, Create a Diversion (2005)
*Antoniou, Theodore, 6 Likes (1968) for solo tuba
Britten, Benjamin, Fanfare for St. Edmundsbury (1959)
*Cage, John, A Flower (1950)
                        Forever and Sunsmell (1942)
                        Musicircus (1967)
                        Third Construction (1941)
Cardew, Cornelius, Treatise (1963-67)
*Clarke, Ian, Orange Dawn (1992) for flute & piano
*Cotton, Jeffery, Meditation, Rhapsody and Bacchanal (2004)
*Crumb, George, Night Music II (1964)
Dorati, Antal, Cinq Pieces pour oboe (1981)
*Franklin, Nia, On the Grasshopper and Cricket (2012)                                                  world premiere
*Garrison, Travis, selectric.metal (2011)
*Grande, Dominick, One Famished Monk's Mead (2013)                                               world premiere
*Ives, Charles, Violin Sonata No. 3 (1914)
*Jacobs, Edward, Plus Ça Change, for violin and orchestra (2013)                               world premiere
*Lipford, Akeem, Solar (2013)                                                                                     world premiere
                        Pitched (2013)                                                                                       world premiere
*Kirchner, Leon, Five Pieces for Piano (1987)
*Macchia, Salvatore, Insectaphobia or Bug Off! (1997/2012)                                         world premiere
*Manzo, V.J., Discourse (2009) for clarinet and interactive software
*Marshall, Florrie, Curve of Color (2012)                                                                     world premiere
*Mazzoli, Missy, Dissolve, O My Heart (2010)
*Omiccioli, Nicholas, flourishes (2012) (US PREMIERE)
                       WINNER, 2013 (8th) ORCH COMPOSITION COMPETITION

Penderecki, Krzysztof, Capriccio (1980) for solo tuba
*Pfalz, Andrew, Follow no path (2012)                                                                          world premiere
                        We are restless things (2013)                                                                    world premiere
*Reich, Steve, Drumming Part One (1971)
Stravinsky, Igor, Symphonies of Wind Instruments (1920/1947)
*Theurer, Britton, Event Horizon (2012)                                                                      world premiere
*Thomas, Augusta Read, Bubble: Rainbow (spirit level) (2003)
                        Radiant Circles (2010)
                        D(i)agon(als) (2005)
                        Euterpes Caprice (2008)
*Tomlinson, Joshua, Audible Desserts (2012)                                                                world premiere
*Travitz, Myles, Dimension (Yellow and Brown) (2013)                                                   world premiere
*Wanamaker, Gregory, Duo Sonata (2002)
*Williams, Colin, Music for a Timeless Planet (2013)                                                    world premiere
*Wolfe, Julia, Dark Full Ride for 4 drum sets (2002)
Yi, Chen, Sprout (1986)

(object placeholder)