School of Theatre and Dance
The Mission

       East Carolina University’s Theatre Program is an Institutional member of The National Association of Schools of Theatre (NAST)                                       
BlackBoardIT Help DeskPirateIDIndexEmail and PhoneOneStopCalendarAccessibility


From the beginning, the Department has basically had two central goals:  1)  to give students top-notch professional training in theatre and dance; and 2) to offer professional quality theatrical productions for the University and the region.  The Department maintains a strong commitment to an undergraduate -only education and offers undergraduates numerous opportunities in performance and production.  Depending on the desire and focus, students can choose from a variety of degrees and concentrations.  BFA degrees are offered with a concentration in the following areas: acting, design-production, theatre education, dance education, musical theatre, and a variety of dance forms.  The BFA curriculum is designed to help students compete successfully for work in the highly competitive professional arena.  For a more traditional liberal arts focus, a BA degree in Theatre Arts is offered.  The Department also provides educational enrichment for the non-major undergraduate student by providing many opportunities for cultural and academic growth through course-work and theatrical productions.

The Department also has artistic and producing responsibility for the ECU/Loessin Playhouse and Summer Theatre, and the East Carolina Dance Theatre.