Tell a friend about this page.
All fields required.
Can be sent to only one email address at a time.
Share Facebook Icon Twitter Icon

Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

BlackBoardIT Help DeskPirateIDIndexEmail and PhoneOneStopCalendarAccessibility
Facebook icon  Directory


Graduates of the Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

(Brody School of Medicine at East Carolina University)


Heather Teague, PhD (2014)

Advisor: Saame Raza Shaikh, PhD

Dissertation: "N-3 Polyunsaturated Fatty Acids Differentially Enhance B-cell Mediated Immunity in Lean & Obese Mice"

J. Kaitlin Morrison, PhD (2014)

Advisor: Brett Keiper, PhD

Dissertation: "The Involvement of Cap-Independent mRNA Translation in Cell Fate Decisions"

Nathaniel Kingsbury, MS (2014)

Advisor: Joseph Chalovich, PhD

Oral Examination: "Fesselin an Intrinsically Disordered Smooth Muscle Protein Organizers and Stabilizes Actin-Myosin and Myosin"

Ryan F. Overcash, PhD (2012)

Advisor: Maria J. Ruiz-Echevarria, PhD

Dissertation: “An examination of the functional role of TMEFF2 in prostate cancer and the translational regulatory mechanisms controlling its expression"

Postdoctoral: Laboratory of Ann Marie Pendergast, PhD; Department of Pharmacology and Cancer Biology, Duke University School of Medicine

Drew Rockett, PhD (2012)

Advisor: S. Raza Shaikh, PhD

Dissertation: “Fish oil disrupts B cell plasma membrane lateral organization and immunological synapse formation"

Postdoctoral: Research Assistant Professor, Department of Physiology and the East Carolina Diabetes and Obesity Institute, East Carolina University

Tamra L. Hunsaker, PhD (2012)

Advisor: Brian Shewchuk, PhD

Dissertation: “Resolving the Role of POU1F1 in Human Growth Hormone Locus Activation"

Postdoctoral: Bert O’Malley, MD, Department of Molecular & Cellular Biology, Baylor College of Medicine

Alona O. Nakonechnaya, PhD (2012)

Advisor: Shewchuk, Brian, PhD

Dissertation: Effects of Exogenous and Autocrine Growth Hormone (hGH) on Prostate Cancer Cell Function

Postdoctoral: Cynthia G. Goodyer, PhD, Department of Pediatrics, McGill University

Vince Contreras, PhD (2010)

Advisor: Brett D. Keiper, PhD

Dissertation: “Multiple Translational Factor eIF4G (IFG-1) Isoforms Regulate Germ Cell Apoptosis"

Postdoctoral: Licensing and Patenting Manager, Office of Technology Transfer at National Institutes of Health, Rockville, MD. 

Vesna Ann Karschner, PhD (2010)

Advisor: Phillip Pekala, PhD

Dissertation: “Post-Transcriptional Regulation of mRNA Metabolism during Differentiation of 3T3-L1 Cells: Role of HuR"

Postdoctoral: Christopher Geyer, PhD., Department of Anatomy & Cell Biology, The Brody School of Medicine, East Carolina University

Svetlana S. Khaymina Hamden, PhD (2010)

Advisor: Joseph M. Chalovich, PhD

Dissertation: “Fesselin and Caldesmon: Natively Unfolded Proteins in Smooth Muscule Regulation"

Mohit C. Mathur, PhD (2009)

Advisor: Joseph M. Chalovich, PhD

Dissertation: “The Distribution of Regulated Actomyosin States is Central to Cardiac Muscle Regulation and Disturbance of this Distribution Leads to Congenital Cardiomyopathies”

Melissa Anne Henderson, PhD (2009)

Advisor: Brett D. Keiper, PhD

Dissertation: “The Unique Roles of IFE-1, a Germline-Specific Isoform of Eukaryotic Translation Factor 4E, During Gametogenisis”

Postdoctoral: Steve L’Hernault, PhD, O. Wayne Rollins Research Center, Emory University

Tara Ann Cartwright, PhD (2009)

Advisor: Ruth A. Schwalbe, PhD

Dissertation: “The Biochemical Characterization of Neuronal K+ Channel N-Glycans and their Role in Regulating K+ Channel Function ”

Postdoctoral: David L. Armstrong, Ph.D., Laboratory of Neurobiology, NIEHS, Research Triangle Park, NC


Brody Building

Message from the Chair:

Phillip Pekala, PhD “In recent years we have seen exciting changes in our understanding of teaching methods that both stimulate and motivate the researcher. Our PhD program is designed to support our students as they progress toward a career in science.”

Please use our website to learn more about our program. Feel free to contact Dr. Phillip Pekala or Dr. Brett Keiper, Associate Professor and Graduate Program Committee Chairman to see if you have what it takes to shape the future in a positive manner.


Give To East Carolina University