Brody Foundation

The Brody Scholars Program | Brody Foundation

Tell a friend about this page.
All fields required.
Can be sent to only one email address at a time.
Share Facebook Icon Twitter Icon

The Brody Legacy

The Brody Medical Scholars program was established by the Brody family of Kinston and Greenville, North Carolina, as part of its long-standing commitment to the Brody School of Medicine at East Carolina University.

Beginning with a generous gift to East Carolina University to help establish the medical school, the Brody family has steadfastly supported medical education at ECU and remains one of the school's most dedicated friends.

The Brody Scholars program honors J. S. "Sammy" Brody, who died in 1994. He and his brother, Leo, were among the earliest supporters of medical education in eastern North Carolina. The legacy continues through the dedicated efforts of Hyman Brody and David Brody. Subsequent gifts through the Brody Foundation have enabled the medical school to educate new physicians, conduct important research, and improve health care in eastern North Carolina Brody Scholars Program is North Carolina's most distinguished medical scholarship.

Leo Sammy & Myrtilla
Leo Brody, J. S. “Sammy” Brody, and his wife, Myrtilla, are shown from left in this photo from about 1982.

Brody Foundation Board of Directors

  • Paul R. G. Cunningham, MD, FACS, President
  • Marcy Romary, Interim Executive Director
  • Amanda G. Austin, MD ‘95
  • R. Douglas Barrow, MD, ‘90
  • David S. Brody
  • Hyman J. Brody
  • Jill Camnitz
  • James W. Chesnutt
  • R. Richard Miller
  • James G. Peden, Jr. MD
  • Andrew M. Southerland, MD '06
  • William C. Taylor, MD '04
  • Thaddeus C. West III, MD, ‘93
Give To East Carolina University